A Shattered Empire : Sorcery Ascendant

  • by Mitchell Hogan
  • Narrated by Oliver Wyman
  • Series: Sorcery Ascendant
  • 21 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In this gritty and breathtaking conclusion to the Sorcery Ascendant Sequence, the award-winning fantasy series, a young sorcerer must learn to wield his extraordinary powers to defeat two warring empires.
In a battle of armies and sorcerers, empires will fall.
After young Caldan's parents were slain, a group of monks raised the boy and initiated him into the arcane mysteries of sorcery. But when the Mahruse Empire was attacked and the lives of his friends hung in the balance, he was forced to make a dangerous choice.
Now, as two mighty empires face off in a deadly game of supremacy, potent sorcery and creatures from legend have been unleashed. To turn the tide of war and prevent annihilation, Caldan must learn to harness his fearsome and forbidden magic. But as he grows into his powers, the young sorcerer realizes that not all the monsters are on the other side.
And though traps and pitfalls lie ahead, and countless lives are at stake, one thing is certain: To save his life, his friends, and his world, Caldan must risk all to defeat a sorcerer of immense power.
Failure will doom the world.
Success will doom Caldan.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Bargain bin Name of the Wind

Pros: some exciting parts. The main protagonist keeps making terrible decisions which gets kind of funny. Narrator is great
Cons: So much milling and wandering around the same place. Constant expository dialog and thoughts: if you are not sure what the main figures are thinking, they will tell you 3-8 times. Really very little payoff for therms of a trilogy
Read full review

- Edward Gustafson

The conclusion that disappointed

After listening to the first two novels in the series I was hooked and had grand expectations for the big finale. I was very disappointed in this final book and the way it was written.
I believe that the story was made far longer than the material could withstand. This series is well worth listening to and is entertaining in its entirety, however the last book is missing that great intrige that I had come to expect from the first two books.
Hats off to the narrative and the artistic manner in which he laid out this magical tail of love and war.
Read full review

- Shawn

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-13-2016
  • Publisher: Audible Studios