A Shadow in Summer : Long Price Quartet

  • by Daniel Abraham
  • Narrated by Neil Shah
  • Series: Long Price Quartet
  • 14 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The powerful city-state of Saraykeht is a bastion of peace and culture, a major center of commerce and trade. Its economy depends on the power of the captive spirit Seedless, an andat bound to the poet-sorcerer Heshai for life. Enter the Galts, an empire committed to laying waste to all lands with their ferocious army. Saraykeht has always been too strong for the Galts to attack, but now they see an opportunity.
If they can dispose of Heshai, Seedless will perish and the entire city will fall. In the middle is Otah, a simple laborer with a complex past. Recruited to act as a bodyguard for his girlfriend's boss at a secret meeting, he inadvertently learns of the Galtish plot. Otah finds himself as the sole hope of Saraykeht: either he stops the Galts or the whole city and everyone in it perishes forever.


What the Critics Say

"A Shadow in Summer is a thoroughly engrossing debut novel from a major new fantasist. A poignant human tale of power, heartbreak, and betrayal." (George R.R. Martin)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Audio Performance adds confusion

Any additional comments?

I think Neil Shah does a great job except that there is no indication when the PoV changes. Within each chapter you might have several different perspectives taking over but unfortunately where the books likely have (I'm assuming here) a visual indicator such as a triple line space or double line with ellipsis - this audiobook simply continues reading with barely a slightly longer pause than a normal paragraph break.

This can actually probably be blamed on the studio rather than Neil Shah - I don't know how much input he'd have on editing.

Read full review

- Scott H.

Worth the Wait

I was super excited when I was browsing Audible and noticed this series was finally in audio format. Having already listened to Abraham's newer series, Dagger and Coin, I had high expectations for this older acclaimed series. I wasn't disappointed. Abraham's style is fairly unique, he writes fantasy but without the usual heroes and villains. If you are looking for melee or magical combat this book doesn't have it, it does have some great characters, plot, and suspense.

Best of all you won't have to wait long for the other books in the series, all are scheduled to be released before the end of 2014.
Read full review

- Cody

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-21-2014
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio