A Rising Thunder : Honor Harrington

  • by David Weber
  • Narrated by Allyson Johnson
  • Series: Honor Harrington
  • 17 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Peril and strife strike on a double front for Honor Harrington and company. After a brutal attack on the Manticoran home system, Honor Harrington and the Star Kingdom she serves battle back against a new, technologically powerful, and utterly nefarious enemy. And as if that weren’t task enough, Honor must also face down a centuries-old nemesis in the crumbling, but still mighty, Solarian League.
The war between the People’s Republic of Haven and the Star Kingdom is finally won and peace established, but grave danger looms - for there is a plan well on its way to completion designed to enslave the entire human species. Behind that plan lies the shadowy organization known as the Mesan Alignment.
Task number one for Honor is to defend against another devastating Mesan strike - a strike that may well spell the doom of the Star Kingdom in one fell blow. It is time to shut down and secure the wormhole network that is the source of the Star Kingdom’s wealth and power - but also its greatest vulnerability. Yet this is an act that the Earth-based Solarian League inevitably will take as a declaration of war.
The thunder of battle rolls as the Solarian League directs its massive power against the Star Kingdom. And once again, Honor Harrington is thrust into a desperate battle that she must win if she is to survive to take the fight to the real enemy of galactic freedom: the insidious puppetmasters of war who lurk behind the Mesan Alignment!


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

I HATE the year-long wait for the next installment

I've read all the books in the Honor Harrington saga multiple times. Some are better than others. At one point, it seemed like they were getting so incredibly long and so little happened, that I decided to stop reading the series, but at some point I gave in and got the books I had missed and started again, and the series has actually improved again. In the early books, the exciting action was carried mostly by Honor. Now that she is a bigwig, a lot of the better action sequences are carried by other people. But the story is interesting and exciting again. I got this book yesterday and have listened to it almost non-stop. And as it neared its end, I felt like groaning. Two days of intense involvement in the story and then 363 days waiting for the next installment. It's sheer torture.

If you have never read any of the Honor Harrington books, this is not the one to start with. The series should definitely be read in order. The first book is "On Basilisk Station." If you have been a fan of the Honor books, be glad. Weber has produced another worthy entry into the series.
Read full review

- ShySusan

Honor Harrington Universe Book 22


"June 1922 Post Diaspora: Protector Benjamin Mayhew IX makes first interstellar state visit to Manticore to sign Manticore-Haven Peace treaty on behalf of Grayson".

The war is over, and from the ashes of this war the "NEW ALLIANCE" is born.
The alliance of two enemies who now understand that they became enemies not by their own Will. Now they finally understand that for more than Twenty years they were puppets of the third party, party who wanted to destroy them both all along. And now one more Puppet of the same master is used to Finish them. But perhaps this NEW ALLIANCE has some friends it doesn't even know about.

"EW" gets a new meaning.
Previously "EW" Electronic Warfare but now it's time for Economical Warfare!!!

It's been taking a bit longer than expected to complete this book , originally it supposed to be around 1200 pages long, but publisher decided to cut it in two, and publish them separately. This book is around 440 pages long and the next one is 610.

Expected publication march 5th 2013
Read full review

- Professor "1*=I didn't like it..... 2*=It was OK...... 3*=It was good but I will never read it again.......... 4*=Maybe I will read it again in the future.............. 5*=I will definitely read it again(maybe more than once)"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-06-2012
  • Publisher: Audible Studios