Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A drunk wizard. A lizard starting a nudie magazine. A former apprentice seeking revenge.
After hundreds of years of wizardry, Master Whizzfiddle wants nothing more than to sit back and relax for the rest of his cursedly long life. His vindictive ex-apprentice has other plans. With a legal challenge out for his cushy guild membership, Whizzfiddle has 30 days to undertake a near-impossible quest....
To get the eternal rest he craves, the lazy wizard must travel with a band of creatures cursed to live out their worst qualities. Returning the ugly elf, the huge dwarf, and the terrified knight to their former glory will take courage. It’ll take perseverance. And for Whizzfiddle’s magic to keep him from a lifetime of hard labor, it’ll take a whole lot of booze....
A Quest of Undoing is the enchanting first book in the Ononokin comedic fantasy series. If you like absurd humor, original characters, and seeing fantasy tropes turned upside down, then you’ll love John P. Logsdon and Christopher P. Young’s epically zany tale.
Fans of Terry Pratchett, Robert Asprin, Piers Anthony, Discworld, Xanth, Myth Adventures, and/or Monty Python will have a blast with the hilarious Ononokin series.
©2013 John P. Logsdon & Christopher P. Young (P)2016 Living Audio
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Kindle Customer on 08-29-16

Humor satire and Wizards

A humorous story with great narration. Think Pratchett and Tolkien get pissed one night and a baby book is the result.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By Cameron F. on 04-28-17

Lighthearted, funny flight of fantasy

Would you try another book from John P. Logsdon and Christopher P. Young and/or Jus Sargeant?

Logsdon and Young have worked on a number of lighthearted comic fantasy and sci-fi stories. I thought the Ononokin universe was innovative, interesting and funny. The differences between the upper and lower worlds intrigue me, as does the concept of wizards needing to come into contact with a very specific magical essence in order to cast spells.

What was your reaction to the ending? (No spoilers please!)

I enjoyed the gradual reveal as to the precise nature and application of Treneth of Dahl's magical essence!

What does Jus Sargeant bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

I would not consider myself likely to read a book in this genre in print version from the library. Having the story and characterisation performed skilfully by a narrator makes it a lot more fun and Jus Sargeant's work rendering the characters doesn't disappoint. His Gungren and the orcs are particularly amusing.

If this book were a movie would you go see it?

Perhaps.

Any additional comments?

I was voluntarily provided this review copy audiobook at no charge by the author, publisher and/or narrator.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Matt on 03-04-16

Terry Pratchett was, and always will be, Amazing! But I think these guys are definitely worthy successors!

Well, I would definitely recommend this book to anybody who loves the work of Sir Terry Pratchett, The master of satirical fantasy. Logsdon and Young haven't set out to copy the disk world series in any way. The only similarity really is that the setting is a fantasy world with its own rules and systems, and of course, a heavy dose of satire. But that's pretty much where the similarity ends. This new series of books brings to life a whole new cast of characters in a completely new and original way, and the narrator Jus Sargeant does a fantastic job in giving every character a very distinct and unique personality. The plot was clever, with some interesting twists and turns, and there were definitely many laughs along the way. The production value is incredibly high, no dogs barking in the background or birds singing outside the studio window. All-round a great audiobook for anybody looking for a laugh and a great fantasy listen! I would highly recommend it, and I can't wait for the next book in the series.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By harriet on 05-15-16

Great fun

Would you listen to A Quest of Undoing again? Why?

I would read it again. i listen to audiobooks in the car - I always find details can get missed meaning I never get bored re-listening.

What did you like best about this story?

Loved the characters. They were really diverse and fun.

Which scene did you most enjoy?

My favorite bit? The final chapters probably but I guess I shouldn't give details her in case they give too much away.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

I used to sit in the car for a few minutes longer at the end of every journey as I didn't want to turn the book off yet.

Any additional comments?

Funny stories. nicely read. Great combination

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc