Regular price: $34.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $34.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In the 10th year of the Change, the survivors in western Oregon have learned how to live in a world without technology. The city-state of Corvallis has preserved its university, and trade flourishes via riverboats and horse-drawn railways. Under the strong hand of Michael Havel, the Bearkillers hold the lands west of Salem in peace and order. And in the eastern half of the Willamette Valley, the Clan Mackenzie flourishes under the charismatic leadership of Juniper Mackenzie, bard and High Priestess. Together, they have held the Lord Protector, Norman Arminger - the warlord of Portland - at bay. With his dark fantasies of a neofeudal empire, Arminger has extended his power over much of the Pacific Northwest, spreading fear with his knights, castles, and holy inquisition. Even more dangerous, and perhaps Arminger's most powerful weapon of all, is the ruthlessly cunning mind of his consort, Lady Sandra.
The tensions between these factions have been building for some time, and the only reason they haven't confronted one another on the battlefield is because Arminger's daughter has fallen into Clan Mackenzie's hands. But Lady Sandra has a plan to retrieve her - a plan that threatens to plunge the entire region into open warfare.
©2006 S.M. Stirling (P)2008 Tantor
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By J. M. Cousins on 01-04-10

Series Finding It's Stride

The war promised in the previous book does come to pass. Familiar faces return and a few lesser known characters are explored in more detail. Story is split between 4-5 major factions as the action becomes more diverse.

This book seems more "comfortable" with itself and hits the mark promised by the basic premise of the series. Descriptions become a little less repetitive and some characters get a lot more interesting.

Narration is good and addresses some of the more common complaints about pronunciation found in previous books. Could stand to have a slightly longer moment of silence when a scene ends dramatically and before the next scene begins some time later.

Worthwhile reading.

Read More Hide me

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Larry on 08-20-09

Great Listen

A proper end to the first part of the change. I have listened to 7 books in this series and can't wait for the next one "The Sword of the Lady" which is supposed to be released in September 2009 in Audio format. I hope has it as soon as it is available. Rudy Mckensie has the best of Mike Havel and Juniper Mckensie and keeps the story line moving ahead. I highly reccomend this series.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc