Wyvern's Mate

  • by Deborah Cooke
  • Narrated by Saskia Maarleveld
  • 3 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Once, in the Kingdom of Incendium, there were 12 princesses of the realm, each a dragon shifter. Each fiery and passionate. Each possessed of an appetite for pleasure that only her destined mate can satisfy. Twelve men are expected in Incendium, each with special powers of his own, each with the gift to claim one dragon princess's heart forever.
Troy will do whatever is necessary to earn his freedom from solitary confinement on the penal colony of Xanto, even assassinate a princess of Incendium. Being a MindBender, he has a serious advantage as a predator and thinks the princess in question doesn't have a chance. Only one of them can survive and Troy knows who it will be - until he meets Drakina.
Royal dragon shifter Drakina has a quest of her own, to seduce her destined mate and conceive the crown prince of Incendium. Her father will free her from all other responsibilities if she completes this one task. Drakina craves her independence enough to seduce the unattractive Terran who is the Carrier of the Seed. She's sure it will be a quick seduction - until she meets Troy.
World collide when Troy and Drakina meet, and passion flares. The attraction is so powerful that they both choose to put their goals aside for one night of passion together. When their respective secrets are revealed, will the truth turn one against the other? Or will destiny allow this star-crossed pair to save each other and their unborn son?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Paranormal romance with heart and passion!

Any additional comments?

Wyvern's Mate is a paranormal romance with lots of heart and insatiable appetites. It is the first in the Dragons of Incendium series by Deborah Cooke. The overall premise of the series is that there are 12 princesses in the Kingdom of Incendium, all of whom are dragon shifters and each princess possessing an unique ability to find her one soulmate through time and space.

Wyvern's Mate is Drakina's story, the oldest of the dragon-shifter-princesses from space. She wants nothing to do with the kingdom and her father agrees to give her the freedom she so desperately desires if she seduces her destined mate and conceive the crown prince of Incendium. Two problems stand in her way: (1) her destined mate, Troy, is an unattractive Terran and (2) Troy is a slave who will be granted his freedom if he assassinates Drakina and if he is unsuccessful he will be executed. It doesn't take a rocket scientist to know that when the pair meet, fireworks and passion ignite. The only question left is who will survive.

I listened to the Audible version of this book narrated by Saskia Maarleveld who was outstanding. Her smooth overtones and subtle character nuances made for a very enjoyable experience. Her style is very natural that makes it easy to become totally immersed listening to the book. If you are like me and are fascinated by dragons, plus enjoy reading or listening to a good romance novel, I recommend you give Wyvern's Mate a try.

Read full review

- LilMissMolly "LilMissMolly"

Gripping start to a new series!

Would you consider the audio edition of Wyvern's Mate to be better than the print version?

I'm a huge fan of Deborah's dragon books, and when I heard she was doing a new series with women dragon shifters, I was very intrigued. I love the sci-fi feel of these, with the dragon realm being on another planetary realm, and Deborah did an amazing job with the romantic tension in this first installment of the Dragons of Incendium.

Drakina must join with her prophesied carrier and conceive a son who is set to be the crown prince and the savior of their planet. However, the dragon princess has no intention of staying with the human once she's gotten what she's after. But when she gets to know him, she realizes that Troy is her heartmate, not just her baby daddy. Unfortunately, the man's intentions for the princess are nefarious.. He's bartered to get out of prison in exchange for the dragon's life. But once he meets her, he knows he'll never be able to do it, and his life might just be worth a few moments of pleasure in her arms.

Drakina and Troy's journey of discovery is rife with surprises and will keep you riveted. The only reason I didn't give the book the 5th star was because it was very short and left me feeling as if the story were rushed a bit. Someting to be expected with novellas, however. I'm looking forward to listening to more, as Saskia is perfect for the narration of these tales!

What did you like best about this story?

The character interaction

Which scene was your favorite?

I had several

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

I did!

Read full review

- Michelle L. Olson

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-13-2016
  • Publisher: Deborah A. Cooke