Why Dukes Say I Do : Wicked Widows

  • by Manda Collins
  • Narrated by Anne Flosnik
  • Series: Wicked Widows
  • 8 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

With her whirlwind social life in London, Lady Isabella Wharton has little interest in the customs of the country. But when her godmother asks her to pay a visit to her bachelor grandson in Yorkshire, Isabella can't refuse. It behooves her to please the old dowager, since she harbors one of Isabella's most scandalous secrets. So off she goes to see the newly-titled - and notoriously rustic - Duke of Ormond.
Trevor Carey doesn't care about what goes on behind ballroom doors. He is content with the simple life - and isn't ashamed to admit it to a society flirt like Lady Isabella. But the country air brings out a different side of Isabella - one full of longing and passion. Can her sophistication be hiding a desire for love? When a blackmailer from the city arrives to threaten Isabella, Trevor will shield her from harm - even travel to London. Can the duke tackle the ton on Isabella's behalf...and manage to keep her all to himself?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Tender Romance with suspense and mystery.

This is a very nice first book in the Wicked Widows series. The author's wonderful storytelling and vivid characters makes this one a must for regency lovers and anyone who enjoys a good romance with mystery and suspense..

There is nice chemistry between the main characters Trevor and Isabella. The love scenes are sweet and not too graphic. Isabella is a women with scars from her first marriage and Trevor is a wonderful tender sensual Hero.

This story takes place in the country so it doesn't focus on Balls or proper etiquette.....it focuses more on the mystery and romance which is quite refreshing. .

Since I enjoyed this one, I will be listening to the remainder of the series.
Read full review

- 🇺🇸🍁DARA

Good story, needs serious editing

The story is good as is the narration, but if poor editing and proofreading for errors and inconsistencies bothers you, skip this book. For example a sentence that includes 'on occasion... once in a while' or 'on the matter... of this matter' makes me long for a red pen. Similarly there is a little too much repetition of information and some basic editing flaws such as the hero being in a dressing gown and naked underneath but a short time later the lady is undoing the buttons of his waistcoat. Once I start noticing these problems, it is hard to stop.

The story is basically good with interesting plotlines and I like the characters, but I won't listen again, and I'm very glad I picked this up on sale. It is not worth a credit to me.
Read full review

- Claire Nyce

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-30-2013
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio