Regular price: $28.51

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $28.51

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

No man can resist Jemma's sensuous allure...except her own husband!
Wedding bells celebrating the arranged marriage between the lovely Duchess of Beaumont and her staid, imperturbable duke had scarcely fallen silent when a shocking discovery sent Jemma running from the ducal mansion. For the next nine years she cavorted abroad, creating one delicious scandal after another (if one is to believe the rumors).
Elijah, Duke of Beaumont, did believe those rumors.
But the handsome duke needs an heir, so he summons his seductive wife home. Jemma laughs at Elijah's cool eyes and icy heart - but to her secret shock, she doesn't share his feelings. In fact, she wants the impossible: her husband's heart at her feet.
But what manner of seduction will make a man fall desperately in love...with his own wife?
©2009 Eloisa James (P)2012 HarperCollins Publishers
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By 🔹🔹🔹CAROLYN 🔹🔹🔹 on 11-02-12


I love E.J.'s books and they are an automatic download for me, this has been a great series - but, to get the most out of them, then it's best to listen to them in order.

The plot of this one is - weeks after they marry Jemma catches Elijah bent over his desk with his mistress, so she flees to France for 9 years until he summons her back because he needs an heir. She thinks she knows him but there is a lot that she's unaware of but she's willing to woo him back and he's desperate to oblige her.

This, in my opinion, is the best in the series so far as it focuses mainly on the two main characters who deeply love each other but, because of outside influences, their relationship never runs smoothly. It's got romance, passion, fun, great characters but it's sad and very touching too. It also gives us an insight of London long ago.

Worth a credit? Yes, it's a 'must have' for us historical/romance lovers - but please try not to miss the whole series.

Read More Hide me

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Queen Squared on 07-28-13

Great Addition to the Series

Firstly, this book is part of a series. Due to how the series is written, you will need to start at book 1 and work your way through. Although "This Duchess of Mine" is (mostly) about Jemma & Elijah, EJ actually starts their story at book 1. So instead of telling each story independently, she weaves her stories together and merely finishes a couple's love story in a certain book.

For the most part, I really enjoyed this book. I can't get into too many details without giving away the storyline; but there was one portion of the story--when Jemma comes up with a far-fetched plan to win her husband's affections--that I thought was ridiculous. However, other than that, I thought this was a charming love story. In these novels, you know the two main characters will eventually make their way to each other. But, EJ does a really good job of throwing in enough curve balls to keep the story intriguing and unpredictable.

EJ & Susan Duerden may be one of the best author-narrator matches on Audible. Sometimes SD's male voices sound very similar to one another. But b/c of how EJ has written the story, differentiating one character from another is rarely a problem. I look forward to reading the next book in this series.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews