The Wicked Deeds of Daniel MacKenzie : Highland Pleasures

  • by Jennifer Ashley
  • Narrated by Angela Dawe
  • Series: Highland Pleasures
  • 13 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Daniel Mackenzie lives up to the reputation of the scandalous Mackenzie family - he has wealth, looks, and talent, and women love him. When he meets Violet Bastien - one of the most famous spiritual mediums in England - he immediately knows two things: that Miss Bastien is a fraud, and that he’s wildly attracted to her.
Violet knows she can’t really contact the other side, but she’s excellent at reading people. She discerns quickly that Daniel is intelligent and dangerous to her reputation, but she also finds him generous, handsome, and outrageously wicked. But spectres from Violet’s past threaten to destroy her, and she flees England, adopting yet another identity. Daniel is determined to find the elusive Violet and pursue the passion he feels for her.
Although Violet knows that her scandalous past will keep her from proper marriage, her attraction to Daniel is irresistible. It’s not until Daniel is the only one she can turn to that he proves he believes in something more than cold facts. He believes in love.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Off just a bit and frustrating reader

I really liked The Madness of Ian MacKenzie a lot. The rest of the series has gone down a bit each book. I have read some, I've listened to some. I was really looking forward to Daniel's book and I liked the set up. But somehow it missed the potential. Daniel has always been able to get what he's wanted in the past books off his charm. In this book he sort of runs over everyone and no one gets angry cause of his charm. As far as the Violet, I really dislike stories that feature her particular form of damage.

Now for the biggest problem. What is going on with Angela Dawe? Her limited voices and odd cadence haven't bothered me AS bad in other books. I didn't notice it at all in Madness of Ian. In this book, especially the first file, you can count to 2 between every sentence, sometime 3. It's like she's being presented ONE sentence at a time on a dragging monitor. The pause is frustrating and very distracting. She has a habit of framing each sentence strongly anyway, but the gap between was far too long.
Read full review

- Vinity "Vinity"


If you're a fan of the MacKenzie Clan, as I am, then you too would have watched Daniel go through his difficult childhood but thankfully, in this book, we see he's all grown up into a sexy, wealthy, handsome, caring, smart, creative, quirky Scotsman with a 'devil may care' attitude to life and everyone loves him..... especially the women (and me me me!!)

But as soon as he sets eyes on Violet (a poor con artist) he's attracted then, when he sees her inventions, he's fascinated but, as Violet slowly opens up to him about her tragic terrible past and still manages to be strong, then he's not only attracted and fascinated but obsessed too. He will follow her to the ends of the earth to have her but he must tread carefully as this slow seduction will take a lot of patience and self control but he hopes it will all be worth it in the end.

Set during the 1890's Industrial Revolution Daniel and Violet are like minded Inventors as well as being drawn to each other and, as the feelings deepen, Violet sees a glimmer of hope for the future and a chance of the security she never had. There's secrets, revenge, villains, twists, surprises, suspense, passion, tenderness, humor, sex and a sensual romance but in the end it takes all of the MacKenzie Clan to ensure a HEA ending.

Worth a credit? It's a very well written, emotional, riveting series to get into and once you do you eagerly await the next entertaining instalment - so that folks is a YES. This could be a stand alone listen but why deprive yourselves of an awesome series - start at book 1 and savour each and every story.
Read full review

- CAROLYN "I love being swept away by a new romance and thankfully Audible's ever growing Library means I get to indulge myself over and over again"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-01-2013
  • Publisher: Recorded Books