The Toad Prince : Cowboy Fairytales

  • by Lacy Williams
  • Narrated by Lara Asmundson
  • Series: Cowboy Fairytales
  • 2 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Prince Pieter of Glorvaird has never met his royal cousins, but he's determined to find a way to hurt them the way he's been hurt. On his mission for revenge, he finds himself traveling a stretch of Texas highway, where he finds a beautiful and stranded young woman. The last thing he needs is a distraction, but McKenna is guileless, nothing like the women who chase his title. He is instantly drawn to her.
Hometown girl McKenna Cline has hedged all her bets on becoming rodeo queen. Four events are all that stand between her and the scholarship she needs to start living her dream of attending law school. She accepts Pieter's offer of help and can't help falling for the man who exudes confidence but has given her glimpses of his vulnerable side.
When the rodeo princess kisses the toad, will he become the prince he was born to be?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The Toad Prince

This is a wonderful addition to this series! This sweet and innocent young lady meets a broken prince, who has only ever need love and trust! Together the 2 fill so many empty spots in each other's hearts! Great story I can't wait to see what's next for the royal family!
Read full review

- Christy D

Pleasant addition to the series but too short

This is Book 3 in Lacy Williams' Cowboy Fairy Tales series. It is about a fictitious European royal family finding love, usually with cowboys in Texas. The idea is silly but I think really pleasant. It is a "clean" romance series (no sex, just kissing) in which each book focuses on a different couple finding love. In this one, Peter is a prince who has never been recognized by his cousins and uncle in the royal family because his crazy mother has been ostracized for decades. Peter intends to find a way to cause trouble for his royal cousin Alesandra living in Texas. However, Peter meets Texas girl McKenna Hastings, who wants to win scholarship money as a rodeo queen. She makes quite an impression on Peter, our "toad prince". FYI, this series is best read in order because some story arcs continue from book to book.
I really enjoyed Books 1 and 2. I liked this one, but I found it a bit disappointing. I wish it was a little longer so that Peter and McKenna had more time together growing their relationship. The ending of the book was a little abrupt, feeling like "happy for now" but not complete enough for a "happily ever after". I hope that this couple gets some more page time in upcoming books. Also, McKenna's pair of cousins were too one-dimensional in their villainous behavior. Lastly, the audiobook was somewhat disappointing because the narrator started to get on my nerves a little with her over-emphasis of words in sentences. She is not the most expert narrator ever, but I had been pleased with her in the last two books. She is pretty good at male and female voices and Texas accents, though. Her European accent is a little lame but passable. I recommend that potential readers definitely listen to the sample before they buy it.
I still plan on listening to the next book in the series. The continuing story arcs really intrigue me, and I am looking forward to hearing about the scarred princess, who is like the Beast in Beauty and the Beast. I really like all 3 couples that we have met so far. In addition, I enjoy the Texas setting. The rodeo setting in Austin seemed very vivid. It was clear that the author has experienced rodeos first hand. I also love the cheerful tone to the series as a whole.
I received a free copy from the author, and I voluntarily wrote this honest review.
Read full review

- Diana in SC

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-06-2016
  • Publisher: Lacy Williams Books