Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

My name is Kaidance Monroe, and sometimes when I touch people, I see how they die.
After I saw my little brother's death but failed to stop it, my parents abandoned me to a juvenile detention facility. I don't let people touch me anymore. Not my fingertips, not my skin, not my heart.
Just before I turned 18, I got a visit from a cute guy, who tricked me into giving up my secrets. He said I was special, but he wasn't the only one searching for me. I barely escaped with my life. Now I'm in a mansion, learning how to control my abilities - abilities so powerful, even the gods are jealous. I didn't mean to make anyone fall for me. Certainly not my would-be killer. And I never imagined how far he would fall.
The Scarlet Thread is a dark fantasy romance for fans of Greek mythology and Gothic romance. Fans of Fallen and Percy Jackson will be captivated by this mashup of fallen angels and forgotten gods.
This is Book One in the Fated Destruction series.
This is a "slow burn" dark fantasy romance - relationships are being formed, but won't heat up until book two. You'll have to keep listening to see whether Kaidance ends up with Puriel, the smoldering fallen angel who tried to kill her, or Sitri, her mysterious brooding savior.
©2016 D.S. Murphy (P)2017 D.S. Murphy
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By C. J. Robinson on 10-26-17

Great writing, mediocre reading.

Definitely not my style of story, but I thoroughly enjoy Derek Murphy's instructional videos on YouTube and I wanted to see how well he backed up his advice. If he has any true horror novels, I'll be all over them.

Austenne Grey has a tendency to over-enunciate horribly, especially when voicing non-human characters in the book. After a while, it became quite distracting for me. I don't have much experience with audio books, however, so please take my review of the audio portion lightly.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Peachesnbeal on 06-07-17

I went on to the second book!

I actually had to slow down the speaking in this book, which I know some people listen to them sped up, so I feel this is a great quality to have! it's hard for me to read ya greek mythology books. I liked this story a lot and the take it has on mythology. As soon as this was done I dl the second one! it's a great listen so I bet it is a great read!

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Michelle Titherington VanDaley on 05-20-17

Awesome Series Starter!

I thoroughly enjoyed this story and Austenne Grey did an Amazing job as narrator!! The book ended on somewhat of a cliffhanger but that was not all surprising since that is common with series. I am excited to see where the next book takes us.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews