The Raven : The Florentine

  • by Sylvain Reynard
  • Narrated by John Michael Morgan
  • Series: The Florentine
  • 13 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The author of the Gabriel's Inferno Trilogy reveals a beautiful yet deadly underworld where creatures of the night roam and Gabriel and Julianne become the target of a powerful but elusive enemy...
Raven Wood spends her days at Florence's Uffizi gallery restoring Renaissance art. But an innocent walk home after an evening with friends changes her life forever. When she intervenes in the senseless beating of a homeless man, his attackers turn on her, dragging her into an alley. Raven is only semiconscious when their assault is interrupted by a cacophony of growls followed by her attackers' screams. Mercifully, she blacks out, but not before catching a glimpse of a shadowy figure who whispers to her...
Cassita vulneratus.
When Raven awakes, she is inexplicably changed. Upon returning to the Uffizi, no one recognizes her. More disturbingly, she discovers that she's been absent an entire week. With no recollection of her disappearance, Raven learns that her absence coincides with one of the largest robberies in Uffizi history - the theft of a set of priceless Botticelli illustrations. When the police identify her as their prime suspect, Raven is desperate to clear her name. She seeks out one of Florence's wealthiest and most elusive men in an attempt to uncover the truth. Their encounter leads Raven to a dark underworld whose inhabitants kill to keep their secrets...
This edition only: Includes Bonus Scenes


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


From the rooftops of Florence with it's spectacular views to the seedy paranormal underground world where vampires partied, fought and held Court, this stunning listen takes you on a mysterious and beautiful journey of love and discovery. It tells the story of how William, a jaded, ruthless, handsome Vampire Prince, saves then slowly becomes enchanted with Raven a timid, imperfect and impaired Art Restorer and, as their very different lives are tested, threatened, betrayed and become forever entwined..... love becomes a possibility.

The world-building and breathtaking descriptions will have you visualising every scene. Their growing friendship and shared passion for art and theology, their tender words, their sensual touches, William's ability to see beyond Raven's outward appearance to the caring heart she openly displays and Raven's determination and ability to hope will enchant you. Then the intrigue, drama, danger, questions, twists, suspense and nail biting action will keep you captivated until the 'to be continued' end. There's meaningful passion-filled sex scenes but they're not too explicit or too often.

There were many accents and emotions in this dual POV listen and they were all brilliantly done by a narrator who gave verbal CPR to written words and brought to life the flawed, emotionally scarred but loveable characters, the emotional scenes and inflected the moods that turned a great book into an unforgettable listen.

Worth a credit? I loved Sylvain Reynard's Gabriel Emerson series and this listen about personal growth despite doubts and weaknesses, love in spite of major differences, redemption however impossible and major life threats has made him an auto download author for me. Which means YES worth a credit, YES worth a $ purchase and YES worth the further credits I'll be using on this awesome new series.
Read full review

- CAROLYN "I love being swept away by a new romance and thankfully Audible's ever growing Library means I get to indulge myself over and over again"

A romantic vampire love story

I wanted to get this book last year but put it off until closer to the release of book two. I'm so glad I did because it would have killed me to wait for the continuation of The Florentine. This was such a beautiful and romantic love story. Although it didn't end with a huge cliffhanger it did leave me wanting for more. Thanks goodness I have already per-ordered 'The Shadow'. John Morgan's narration was outstanding as well.
Read full review

- Katheryne "Busy mom who loves to read but doesn't always have the time. I enjoy YA, Romance and the occasional Best Seller."

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-03-2015
  • Publisher: Penguin Audio