The Obsession

  • by Nora Roberts
  • Narrated by Shannon McManus
  • 14 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The riveting new novel from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Liar.
Naomi Bowes lost her innocence the night she followed her father into the woods. In freeing the girl trapped in the root cellar, Naomi revealed the horrible extent of her father's crimes and made him infamous.
Now a successful photographer living under the name Naomi Carson, she has found a place that calls to her, thousands of miles away from everything she's ever known. Naomi wants to embrace the solitude, but the residents of Sunrise Cove keep forcing her to open up - especially the determined Xander Keaton.
Naomi can feel her defenses failing, and knows that the connection her new life offers is something she's always secretly craved. But as she's learned time and again, her past is never more than a nightmare away.


What the Critics Say

"[Narrator Shannon] McManus gives a moving performance of Naomi's struggles to overcome her horrific past in a psychological thriller listeners won't want to miss." (AudioFile)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

3 hours about a home remodel ...

The beginning started off great and built up a great story.

The middle lost me. I wish she focused on more details that were important to the story line. Instead the middle was about a detailed home remodel that had little relevance to the overall story.

The end was ok. A little predictable.

This was my first Nora Roberts book and I'm not convinced I would read another.
Read full review

- Tara

Just FYI

This book is not really about an obsessive stalker/murderer and the struggle to catch him. This book is about a young woman with unlimited money buying and renovating a house, while she takes photos, goes furniture shopping, has un-realistic conversations, and works hard to not get attached to the hunkiest bachelor in town. That is pretty much the whole book right there.
I bought it based on the ratings, but buyer be ware! When a book goes best seller, everybody and their grandmother will give it 5 stars and the rating system goes out the window.
Read full review

- Eva

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-12-2016
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio