The McKinnon Legends : The McKinnon Legends

  • by Ranay James
  • Narrated by Cait Frizzell
  • Series: The McKinnon Legends
  • 27 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

"You think you are in control of your life?" Fate asks as she looks down upon this Earth. "If so, I advise you to think again...."
No matter one's station in life, Fate mocks us all. None is exempt - a lesson two of King Henry's favorite knights are about to learn...the hard way.
Book 1: The McKinnon, The Beginning Parts 1 & 2
It is the year of our Lord 1493, and King Henry VII has been seated on the English throne for eight years. He did not get there by chance alone. Nor has he stayed there with ease. He has his favorites, generously rewarding those who serve him well. Sir Nic McKinnon is at the top of that list.
For his faithful devotion, Nic finds himself graciously rewarded. That reward is the hand of Morgan Pembridge, seventh duchess of Seabridge, in marriage. The only issue is Nic isn't interested in the bounty, and taking a wife is certainly not in his plans. However, he understands that seeming ungrateful to Henry for his gift or disobeying a king's command is never wise. Nic reluctantly agrees to marry, but living with his duchess was not one of Henry's stipulations.
The stage is set for the battle to secure Morgan's birthright: the lavishly appointed Seabridge Castle. Currently, the prosperous dukedom is in the hands of the lecherous Lord Brentwood, who seized control after Morgan's family was killed in a fatal fire.
Nic must fight to regain what Brentwood never had the right to possess. Will he succeed? Or will true evil prevail? There can be only one victor.
Book 2: Unfinished Business Parts 1 & 2
Connor Holden, earl of Featherstone, has it all: looks, money, power. He's a man with a lot to lose.
Pride goes before a fall. We all know that to be a universal truth.... And Connor is about to find out exactly how far from grace that fall will take him.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Shallow & Predictable Historical (sort-of) Romance

Very rarely do I not finish a book once I've started, but I just can't continue listening to this one. The characters are flat, cookie-cutter stereotypes. The plot is predictable. The bad guys are 100% bad and the good guys are 100% good. Predictable romantic conflicts caused by lack of honesty and communication. Characters fall in love in the space of a paragraph (but taking a few hundred to admit it to themselves or each other). "Sex scenes" that go from starting to untie a bodice to waking up the next morning. (If the characters are going to be this flat, at least give me a heaving bosom!) And phrases such as "He was frequently always right." Which is it? Frequently or always? Oh, and "time travelling"? I'm 66 chapters into the book and haven't seen it yet. It reads like an Outlander wanna be, right down to a a stubborn Scot (sort of) and a female healer with knowledge of the future. If marketed as a YA novel, I might be able to forgive it, but even then, I would hope teenagers would want more depth to their stories. The voice actor does an admiral job with what she was given. I will be asking for a refund on this one, as well as suggesting Audible check their algorithm for recommending books, because they missed the mark on this one!
Read full review

- Beth Case

The McKinnon Ledgends as a time travel series.....

If you could sum up The McKinnon Legends in three words, what would they be?

Interesting but lacking........

Would you be willing to try another book from Ranay James? Why or why not?

Yes, because I really want to see the rest of the story. The introduction to the 3rd book ias offered seems like I'm going to get some of the answers.......beginning to get into the heart of the story.

Which character – as performed by Cait Frizzell – was your favorite?

Rafe McKinnon because he is the odd man out and now stuck in the future........

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

When are we?

Any additional comments?

When are the rest of the books in the series going to become available?

Read full review

- Kathy Fairchild

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-13-2016
  • Publisher: Lock Box, LLC