Regular price: $19.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Enjoy another witty, emotional book in New York Times and USA Today best-selling author Erica Ridley's fan-favorite Dukes of War regency romance series!
When Major Bartholomew Blackpool learns the girl-next-door from his childhood will be forced into an unwanted marriage, he returns home to play her pretend beau. He figures now that he's missing a leg, a faux fiancée is the best an ex-soldier can get. He admires her pluck, but the lady deserves a whole man - and he'll ensure she gets one.
Miss Daphne Vaughan hates that crying off will destroy Major Blackpool's chances of finding a real bride. She plots to make him jilt her first. Who cares if it ruins her? She never wanted a husband anyway. But the major is equally determined that she break the engagement. With both of them on their worst behavior, neither expects their fake betrothal to lead to love...
©2015 Erica Ridley (P)2016 Erica Ridley
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By New Mexico Reader on 05-09-17

fun story

I enjoyed listening to this. though at times I wanted to bash Daphne and Bartholomew over the head for their repeated insecurities. But those made the HEA all the better. Mildly sexual but well done.

Read More Hide me

By Zena on 03-15-17

Strong characters with obvious flaws

This was every bit as good, if not better than the previous three books in this series.
He is a man back from the war and missing part of his leg and she is a young lady who is being forced to marry within a month by her guardian or face being locked up.
Of course she immediately turns to a man she knew when they were both younger and the story unfolds..... With many a good chuckle and surprises in store for the reader.
Both characters have been written as strong people yet with obvious flaws and this makes this story very readable and most enjoyable.
I hope you enjoy this book and audiobook version as much as I have.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc