The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie : Highland Pleasures

  • by Jennifer Ashley
  • Narrated by Angela Dawe
  • Series: Highland Pleasures
  • 9 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Nominee, Romance, 2013
It was whispered all through London society that he was a murderer, that he'd spent his youth in an asylum and was not to be trusted - especially with a lady. Any woman caught in his presence was immediately ruined. Yet Beth found herself inexorably drawn to the Scottish lord whose hint of a brogue wrapped around her like silk and whose touch could draw her into a world of ecstasy.
Despite his decadence and intimidating intelligence, she could see he needed help. Her help. Because suddenly the only thing that made sense to her was the madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie.


What the Critics Say

"The Mackenzie brothers will leave you breathless." (Elizabeth Hoyt)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


This was one of my favorite reads of 2010
Who knew that being odd could so be hot!
One thing makes this book exciting, fresh and captivating; Lord Ian Mackenzie.
I love, love the way Ms. Ashley took this unconventional hero and turned him into one my most endearing characters, and hopefully one of yours.
Institutionalized since the age of twelve, Ian Mackenzie is brilliant to the point that borderline madness, but thanks to his brother intervention he was rescued, and has being living a semi normal life, that is, until Beth Ackerly walks into his life.

Once thing Lord Ian knows, is how to value, and the authenticity of a treasure, and when he meets Beth for the first time, he immediately recognizes her worth, and he???s determined not to let it go to waste with her broke and unappreciative fianc????. With tunnel vision and uncompromising determination he decides, he will make Beth his wife.
Beth is a nice complement to Ian, and one of the few people that quickly recognized his brilliance, and she undoubtedly helps him bring it to the front.
But things are never easy, are they?
With that, we get a story with so many elements that won't allow you and won???t want to pause for a minute. This novel has it all; mystery, murder, entertaining dialogue, humor, a nicely paced and scorching romance (did I say I love Ian?) not to mention great secondary characters that will have you coming back for more, which BTW, I haven???t done yet, but I assure you that I???m highly anticipating the next audio release.
This was a fantastic introduction to the series, and a must listen for all Historical Romance fans.

When I found out that Angela Dawe was going to be narrating this novel, I had to admit I have doubts, not because she???s not a capable narrator, but because I had envision how nicely Susan Ericksen would have brought this novel to life.
But what do I know? It turns out that Angela Dawe was the perfect choice; she beautifully and with commended accuracy brought the characters and the story to life.
Angela???s tone, pace and approach were precisely what the story demanded.
I had no problem at all distinguishing the voices; the only small flaw I found was her Scottish accents, let???s just say I???ve heard better; nevertheless, this was a very good performance.

Genre: Historical Romance
Sensuality: HOT
Read full review

- Lupdilup

Way above my expectations!

I decided to get this book on a whim but am very grateful that I did! It was amazing. Beth is able to look inside of Ian and see him for what an amazing person he is. He is so focused on her from the start that she can be a bit overwhelmed, that is until she learns to welcome his attentions and share in his "madness". I believe that Ian could have a small case of autism. He is afraid to look Beth directly in the eyes because he gets so obsessed he can't look away. He has also struggled in his family relationships and Beth helps him to reconnect with his brothers in meaningful and heartfelt ways. Wonderfully enchanting and I definitely suggest we all have a little "Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie".
Read full review

- bluebelle

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-26-2012
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio