Regular price: $20.99

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $20.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

With the ability to detect the auras of dangerous psychic criminals, Rachel Bonner has found peace and quiet on Rainshadow Island with her dust bunny companion. Then Harry Sebastian, the descendant of a notorious pirate, arrives to investigate strange developments in the privately owned woods known as the Preserve. Rachel can sense the heart of darkness within him - and the stirrings of desire within her own soul....
©2012 Jayne Castle (P)2012 Brilliance Audio, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Margie on 12-19-12

Nice edition to the Harmony series

I generally enjoy all of Jayne Castle/Jayne Krentz/Amanda Quick's books, this one was no exception. The beginning felt slightly disjointed, the transition from Frequency City to Rainshadow Island felt a little rushed. I almost thought I accidentally forwarded through a scene, but I know that she uses that style in a lot of her writing. Though it is easier to 'see' the transition when you read than when you listen, lol.

Castle's female characters are always a bit feisty and a little 'unusual' in that they never seem to fit in with the norm (of the society the books are set in). Their quirks are part of their charm, and usually the reason the hero ends up falling for them. I've always liked the mix of fantasy & mystery & romance she puts in all her series. I am fascinated with the idea of psi- abilities and like the way she's still able to put a slight twist on it given Harmony's history - a bit of old fashioned sci-fi alien technology mixed with old-world fantasy psi-abilities.

I basically logged on to Audible today to see if she had any other more recent books out in any of her pseudonyms. Alas, not until next month!

Definitely recommend the author and this series, as well as the Arcane Society series which can be seen as part of this series too, if you squint :)

Read More Hide me

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

By sandy on 10-16-13

OK book not great but ok

OK listen, I did enjoy it even if I didn't think it a great book

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By L on 05-16-16


This book was enjoyable but not fantastic. I think the most annoying thing was the constant mentioning of people and events that you are clearly supposed to know about but have never been mentioned and you know nothing about. At first I though maybe I had bought the second book, but when I checked this is listed as the first of the series. Odd. The narration is okay, I have definitely had to put up with worse when it comes to audio book. May get the next in the series, but not sure.

Read More Hide me

By Rachel4340 on 03-28-15

Good but not perfect

Generally a good convincing performance but a lot of the male characters sounded similar. Story was good but had a few sections where the action stopped and the characters all sat around explaining back story to each other

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc