The Last Summer

  • by Judith Kinghorn
  • Narrated by Jane Wymark
  • 13 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Clarissa is almost 17 when the spell of her childhood is broken. It is 1914, the beginning of a blissful, golden summer - and the end of an era. Deyning Park is in its heyday, the large country house filled with the laughter and excitement of privileged youth preparing for a weekend party. When Clarissa meets Tom Cuthbert, home from university and staying with his mother, the housekeeper, she is dazzled.
Tom is handsome and enigmatic; he is also an outsider. Ambitious, clever, his sights set on a career in law, Tom is an acute observer, and a man who knows what he wants. For now, that is Clarissa. As Tom and Clarissa's friendship deepens, the wider landscape of political life around them is changing, and another story unfolds: they are not the only people in love. Soon the world - and all that they know - is rocked by a war that changes their lives forever.


What the Critics Say

"A sumptuous, absorbing tale of love in time of war." (Rachel Hore, author of A Place of Secrets)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Romantic, heartbreaking, heartwarming

I found it hard to even begin another book after listening to The Last Summer because I just keep thinking about it. It's descriptive writing draws you into the story. It's heartbreaking and heartwarming at the same time. It's hard to stop listening. I recommend this book! FYI, the sex scenes are graphic but can be skimmed over.
Read full review

- Vickie

The Last Summer Delivers

I had to listen to this twice. I love Downtown Abbey, and this is in that vain. The writer's diction is carefully chosen. The characters are so vivid both through the beautiful narration and the writer's brush strokes. I found myself close to tears when Clarissa is close to tears. I was rooting for her to be happy. This novel is heartbreaking at times but brilliantly written.
Read full review

- Carmen Bryant

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-31-2012
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio