The Girl with the Make-Believe Husband : The Rokesbys

  • by Julia Quinn
  • Narrated by Rosalyn Landor
  • Series: The Rokesbys
  • 10 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

With her brother, Thomas, injured on the battlefront in the colonies, orphaned Cecilia Harcourt has two unbearable choices: move in with a maiden aunt or marry a scheming cousin. Instead she chooses option three and travels across the Atlantic, determined to nurse her brother back to health.
But after a week of searching, she finds not her brother but his best friend, the handsome officer Edward Rokesby. He's unconscious and in desperate need of her care, and Cecilia vows that she will save this soldier's life, even if staying by his side means telling one little lie.
When Edward comes to, he's more than a little confused. The blow to his head knocked out three months of his memory, but surely he would recall getting married. He knows who Cecilia Harcourt is - even if he does not recall her face - and with everyone calling her his wife, he decides it must be true, even though he'd always assumed he'd marry his neighbor back in England.
Cecilia risks her entire future by giving herself - completely - to the man she loves. But when the truth comes out, Edward may have a few surprises of his own for the new Mrs. Rokesby.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Not my favorite Julia Quinn novel.

Sluggish until toward end, unlikeable female character. 1st novel in this series was excellent. I had anticipated another Quinn masterpiece and was left disappointed - for me and for Edward - he deserved better. The idea of the story was good, but even my favorite narrator could not solve the sluggish and unlikeable aspects. I hope Andrew has a better outcome.
Read full review

- Ann Shank


Good quick summer read or listen. good story, unexpected twist, good sentiment. beautifully read
Read full review

- science girl

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-30-2017
  • Publisher: HarperAudio