The Girl at the Farmhouse Gate : Land Girls Trilogy

  • by Julia Stoneham
  • Narrated by Patience Tomlinson
  • Series: Land Girls Trilogy
  • 8 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

It is early spring in 1944, and Allied troops will soon invade northern France. Alice Todd is beginning her second year as warden of a Land Army hostel located in the wilds of Devonshire.
Here she has won the affection and confidence of the girls in her charge and found herself caught up in lives which are complex, humorous, and sometimes tragic.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

2nd Verse same as the first

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

I love the characters and wanted to spend more time with each of them, but I felt like too much of the story was recapping the first book. I wish there would have been more time spent on the development an progression of the story and characters.

What do you think your next listen will be?

My next listen was the 3rd book, and sadly I found the repetition to be similar.

What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?


Read full review

- viola 55

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-18-2010
  • Publisher: ISIS Audio Books