The Devil's Heart : The Chattan Curse

  • by Cathy Maxwell
  • Narrated by Rosalyn Landor
  • Series: The Chattan Curse
  • 8 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

New York Times best-selling author Cathy Maxwell returns with her most unforgettable novel about the Chattan family yet....
They call her the Unattainable. Lady Margaret Chattan spurned every suitor for her hand, vowing never to marry. The only way to break the curse plaguing her family for two centuries is this ultimate sacrifice. But now her brothers' lives are in danger. Determined to save them, she risks her very soul by traveling into the heart of the Highlands to battle a force that has transcended time.
Heath Macnachtan is not superstitious. Laird of the most independent, nonconforming, madly infuriating clan ever to grace Scotland, he believes he has his hands full. And then a woman lauded as one of the most beautiful in England arrives on his doorstep with wild accusations and a mystical that just might help him discover who murdered his own brother.
But the real danger for Heath and Margaret is not a supernatural foe, but a very real love that could destroy them both.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


THE DEVIL'S HEART by Cathy Maxwell is an exciting Scottish Historical Romance with magical elements set in 1814 Scotland. #3 and final installment in "The Chattan Curse",but can be read as a stand alone. See,"Lyon's Bride",and "The Scottish Witch". What a wonderful conclusion for the English Chattan family and the Macnachtan Clan. Follow, Lady Margret Chattan,the most "Unattainable" lady in England Society,whose plaqued by the "Chattan Curse", her brothers Lyon, and Neil are dying due to this centuries old curse. Margret sets off to the Scottish Highlands to break the curse,and save her beloved brothers but what she finds is the power of love. Heath Macnachtan, the Macnachtan clan's Laird,a poor clan burdened with debt and determined to find is older brother's murderer,what he finds is the beautiful Lady Margret. They are bitter enemies, if you have not read any of this amazing trilogy, than I don't want to give any seek peeks,but let me say the curse effects both families, the Chattan and the Macnachtan clan. Fast paced,filled with danger, magic, passion, betrayal and love. You will not be disappointed in the "The Devil's Heart" with a bit of magic and the power of love, an evil witch must be defeated in order to save both the first female Chattan, and the last Macnachtan. A powerful story of love, forgiveness, healing and family. With a bit of humor at times, I found myself smiling at times. If you have read the other two in this amazing trilogy, I would highly recommend all three in this powerful trilogy. You will not be disappointed. Ms. Maxwell is a wonderful storyteller, with powerful plots, who characters are realistic,memorable and engaging. A must read for anyone who enjoys Scotland, historical romance, England, folklore, and a great listen.

Rosalyn Landor as always was outstanding with the delivery of the story.

Read full review

- Lia "I love all genres of books. However, when I listen to audio books as I clean, garden, drive they are better with a lot of heat!"


Oh no it's finished - last of the Regency trilogy about the Chattan curse and what an enjoyable finish it was.

The beautiful Margaret seeks an end to the curse which is believed to be destroying her brothers which takes her to the Highlands and into the arms of Laird Heath (a kind and thoughtful Highland hunk). A passionate tale of curses, the paranormal, romance, double crossings, murder, mystery, danger, healing, forgiveness, memorable characters and a magic white cat called Owl.

Worth a credit? Yes, and it could be a stand alone listen but book 1 Lyon's Bride and 2 The Scottish Witch are enjoyable too.
Read full review

- CAROLYN "I love being swept away by a new romance and thankfully Audible's ever growing Library means I get to indulge myself over and over again"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-30-2013
  • Publisher: HarperAudio