The Demon of Darkling Reach : The Black Prince Trilogy

  • by P.J. Fox
  • Narrated by Shiromi Arserio
  • Series: The Black Prince Trilogy
  • 14 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Peregrine Cavendish, 12th Earl of Enzie, has made a devil's bargain: he's going to sell Rowena, Isla's beautiful and innocent younger sister, to a known murderer in exchange for forgiveness of his debts. Tristan Mountbatten, the infamous Duke of Darkling Reach, has a habit of marrying such women and then disposing of them...horribly. For this and other reasons, there are rumors. That he practices the dark arts; that he's a necromancer; that he is, in fact a demon. And studying him, this notorious politician and realm builder across the table, Isla can believe it. Believe it all. Because she knows, even from that first introduction, that Tristan Mountbatten isn't human. No one else seems to have noticed the obvious, but Isla has...and is terrified. For herself, but more so for the sister she loves. The sister who's been more of a daughter, the sister for whom she'd sacrifice anything. So Isla makes a devil's bargain of her own.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Its ok

Its a grood first book but was a little disappointed. seemed very very dragged on. There was no sex scenes. Just very dragged on is all I can say not much truly going on in the first book. Just mostly whining and verbal arguments.
Read full review

- Tiana Brown

Beauty Meets Dark Shadows

The Demon of Darkling Reach begins with Peregrine Cavendish, 12th Earl of Enzie sacrificing his younger daughter, Rowena to the Tristan Mountbatten, infamous Duke of Darkling Reach in turns that Tristan will forgives his debt. Isla is the only one who could that the Duke is not a man but a demon. No one and not even her father's guests were able to see the Duke for what he is.

The Duke of Darkling Reach is rumored to have married several times and mysteriously has disposed of his wives and have practiced the dark arts. Because of her love for her sister Rowena and in order to save her sister from such fate, Isla made a deal with Tristan that he wed her instead of her sister.

The more time that Isla spent with Tristan, the more that she found the people she has loved are more cruel and conniving in their quest for power. They are willing to use her against Tristan and even to overthrow Tristan's brother, the King.

The Demon of Darkling Reach is a dark romance story. The story goes into human nature. Even if story has presented Tristan as human, the story wouldn't have deviated from the storyline and its content. Isla would still be able to see how politics played out from her father, Rowena, and even the priest. Isla has even changed her opinion of Tristan from fear to loving him even though he is a demon.

The story has a touch of Beauty and the Beast and Dark Shadows theme. At the beginning of the story, Tristan is more of a monster to Isla because she is able to see what he is. But as the story progress, Isla is able to accept Tristan. The way the story ended, I wanted to know what is in store for Isla as she makes her journey into Tristan's world.

The narrator, Shiromi Arserio does an excellent job in narrating the story. This book would have been overlooked by readers/listeners and even by me due to the blurb as a horror story. The narrator makes the story enjoyable to listen to. I wouldn't mind having her to come back for the next two books in this trilogy.

I was given this audiobook by the author/narrator/publisher via Audiobook Blast in exchange for an honest review. I was not compensated or influence in any way for writing this review.
Read full review

- ecocat

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-02-2015
  • Publisher: Evil Toad Press