Regular price: $24.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Lady Phoebe Fairchild is well aware that the ton would be appalled to learn of a young lady of quality involved in a trade. Therefore, she resorts to selling her beautiful handmade gowns under a fictitious name: Madame Dupree.
So when circumstances force her to visit the estate of William Darby, the Viscount of Summerfield, to design ball gowns for his sisters, she assumes Madame's identity. Phoebe's discomfort in her new position as hired help is nothing compared to her visceral attraction to the viscount himself.
Heathenishly handsome and shamelessly seductive, Will invites her to be his mistress - and Phoebe is shockingly tempted to accept. But as their desire for each other grows and the risk of exposure becomes even greater, Phoebe is in dire danger of losing her reputation, her livelihood - and her chance of becoming the bride of the man whose passion has claimed her forever.
©2007 Dinah Dinwiddie (P)2014 Audible Inc.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Cam on 01-27-14

Enthralled with the 3rd book in the series

After having read and listened to so many books it is hard to be truly captivated by “series”. I feel as the series continue, the stories lose their originality and just becomes a chore the author has to finish. I was truly surprised to find how original this story was and how much it differed from the first. I did skip the second book but now I am going to purchase that as well. Julia London has quickly become one of my favorite authors and I like her style of writing and her originality from one story to the next. Well worth the credit.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Ashley Wilson on 04-05-17


This book had me full of anticipation right up until the end. Phoebe is a very likable character, and I like the way that Julia London tied in women's rights to the plot. I will definitely read this again in the future!

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc