The Cafe by the Sea

  • by Jenny Colgan
  • Narrated by Sarah Barron
  • 10 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The beloved author of The Bookshop on the Corner returns with a sparkling, sunny, soulful new novel perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand.
Years ago Flora fled the quiet Scottish island where she grew up - and she hasn't looked back. What would she have done on Mure? It's a place where everyone has known her all her life, where no one will let her forget the past. In bright, bustling London, she can be anonymous, ambitious...and hopelessly in love with her boss.
But when fate brings Flora back to the island, she's suddenly swept once more into life with her brothers - all strapping, loud, and seemingly incapable of basic housework - and her father. Yet even amid the chaos of their reunion, Flora discovers a passion for cooking - and finds herself restoring a dusty little pink-fronted shop on the harbour: a café by the sea.
But with the seasons changing, Flora must come to terms with past mistakes - and work out exactly where her future lies....
Funny and heartfelt, The Café by the Sea is a delightful summertime novel that puts a modern twist on the classic Seven Brides for Seven Brothers story.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

3.5 stars

I listen to all the new Jenny Colgan releases on audible. I was disappointed in this one. The plot was rather predictable. Only interesting part of the listening experience was the exotic Scottish locale and local customs.
Read full review

- Robin

Makes me want to move to Scotland

Where does The Cafe by the Sea rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

This book is right in the middle: not the worst, but far from the best.


Would you recommend The Cafe by the Sea to your friends? Why or why not?

I would, because the narrator Sarah Barron was mostly enchanting. Her apparently authentic Scottish accent wove a mood that carried me away. She read the women characters much better than the men, and her American accent wasn't quite right, but the Scottish characters made up for that.


Which scene was your favorite?

I loved all of the scenes of daily life and cuisine on the fictional Isle of Muir. Having just been to Scotland, the reader beautifully evoked the atmosphere of northern climes.


Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I did not have an extreme reaction. Occasionally I winced at some of the romance novel scenes.


Any additional comments?

Any story about a kinder, gentler world that I hope is out there somewhere is OK by me.

Read full review

- Marilyn

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-27-2017
  • Publisher: Harper Audio