Regular price: $27.99

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $27.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Ian MacGregor is wooing a woman who's wrong for him in every way. As the new Earl of Balfour, though, he must marry an English heiress to repair the family fortunes. But in his intended's penniless chaperone, Augusta, Ian is finding everything he's ever wanted in a wife.
©2012 Grace Burrowes (P)2013 Tantor
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Burrowes is superb at creating connections that feel honest and real, and the side romances for Ian's siblings, treated with the same tenderness and care as her central pair, makes this tale even sweeter." (Publishers Weekly Starred Review)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Marilyn Rondeau on 01-10-16

Loved It - awesome!

I am absolutely in love with Ian McGregor! What a wonderful character and premise for another of Grace Burrowes impeccable and exciting books. This Victorian era Scottish Highland adventure is just the ticket for 10 hours of a sensual romance and high adventure to listen to.

Ian MacGregor as the acting laird of his clan and Earl of Balfour. Ian has the duty of saving his clan from complete ruin by marrying an heiress in order to keep the clan afloat. To that end he invites a wealthy English family to his castle so he can woo the eldest daughter Genie, a rather bored young miss. However, Ian can’t help but notice Genie’s penniless cousin Augusta Merrick whose wit, intelligence and understanding of his situation quite endears her to him.

Try as he might Ian seems to be getting no where in his wooing of Genie and in the meantime he is growing more and more fonder of Augusta. However, after several accidents start befalling Augusta, it spurs Ian’s protective instincts and force him to take notice of what really seems to be going on.

Right from the very beginning one sees that Ian is more deserving of love from someone like Augusta than have to spend the rest of his life with another who cold care less for him or his clan. When Genie begins to avoid Ian as much as possible, Augusta is the one who tries to help Ian, even though it was breaking her own heart in trying to hook him up with her cousin.

Lots of hijinks go on in this deeply involved tale and with characters you will love and those you’s like gone! Ms. Burrowes fills the pages with so many characters, each having a little bit of a story of their own. Ian’s brothers, sister, and precocious niece are a total delight and make perfect use of filling the pages with such depth the reader will feel like part of this family and drama. No doubt about it - this is one more series by the estimable author Grace Burrowes I will be following. Only one word describes Ms. Burrowes - AWESOME!!

Marilyn Rondeau

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

By CHRISTINE D., BX on 12-15-13

Changed Everything

What made the experience of listening to The Bridegroom Wore Plaid the most enjoyable?

This is the first audible book I purchased , so I didn't know what to expect. Hoped for different voices and such. I got everything I wanted and more. It made the book so much more enjoyable. I read/heard the book in two nights. Didn't read without voice, which curtailed reading at work. My boss was probably thrilled. : ). It is great, try it.

What does Roger Hampton bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

His own voice is so smooth, all the others are so interesting and believable. It also made the characters more real and easier to follow. Too many characters and you start to wonder "who is this again?" Loved it.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc