The Bookshop on the Corner

  • by Jenny Colgan
  • Narrated by Lucy Price-Lewis
  • 9 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Nina Redmond is a librarian with a gift for finding the perfect books for her readers. But can she write her own happy ever after?
In this valentine to readers, librarians, and book lovers the world over, the New York Times best-selling author of Little Beach Street Bakery returns with a funny, moving new novel for fans of Meg Donohue, Sophie Kinsella, and Nina George's The Little Paris Bookshop.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Heartwarming

It has been a while since I've had an opportunity to read a book. The description of this one peaked my interest. I was not disappointed. I absolutely loved this book. I had a hard time putting it down. I loved the choices Nina was faced with and I was on the fence about how they would turn out. I adored Nina's innocent character. I found myself rooting for her and also falling in love with everyone that she fell in love with. This book would appeal to romance readers and booklovers.
Read full review

- Amoseley

Misleading

The title and blurb may lead a reader to think that this book will be about a downsized librarian starting over with a mobile bookstore, which does begin the story. Throughout, however, there is the sense that, for a literary exploration, or for women's fiction, or even a slice-of-life meditation on bibliophilia as a coping tool, something is always off: too melodramatic, too one-dimensional, too contrived, too histrionic. And then, three fourths of the way through the book, the reader realizes that this book is a formulaic "romance": staged misunderstandings, obsessive insecurities, noncommittal sex, and all. The descriptions of the Scottish Highlands are vivid and invigorating, and the book recommendations for certain problems and character types are thought-provoking or just laugh-out-loud fun. But the main character's blithe disregard for other people's feelings, safety, privacy, emotional needs, and vulnerabilities may wear on a reader who doesn't realize all this occasionally aggravating plot is going to be about will be learning to bond through sex. This may be a very good read for romance fans. Unfortunately, I went from loving the narrator's handling of each voice (except the protagonist's) and sharing the excitement about starting over with a bookstore of withdrawn books to hating the thought of slogging through one more minute of the main character's sexual forays and whining self-centeredness.
Read full review

- Alexisâ˜ș

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-20-2016
  • Publisher: HarperAudio