Summer's Child

  • by Diane Chamberlain
  • Narrated by Carla Mercer-Meyer
  • 12 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Early on the morning of her 11th birthday, on the beach beside her North Carolina home, Daria Cato receives an unbelievable gift from the sea: an abandoned newborn baby. When the infant's identity cannot be uncovered, she is adopted by Daria's loving family. Now, 20 years later, Shelly has grown into an unusual, ethereal young woman whom Daria continues to protect. But when Rory Taylor, a friend from Daria's childhood and now a television producer, returns at Shelly's request to do a story about the circumstances surrounding her birth, something precarious shifts in the small town of Kill Devil Hills.
The more questions Rory asks, the more unsettled the tiny community becomes, as closely guarded secrets and the sins of that long-ago summer begin to surface. Piece by piece, the mystery of summer's child is being exposed, a mystery that no one involved - not Shelly, Daria, not even Rory - is prepared to face.


What the Critics Say

"Chamberlain creates a captivating tale populated with haunting characters." (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Not terrible

This is an ok story. It seemed a little sophomoric to me, but not a total waste of time. The narrator, however, made it a less-than-satisfying listen. Admittedly, I have gotten quite picky with narrators and I expect a lot from them. But, that is because when I started listening to books in the 1990s, the narrators were few and were generally dry and you had to listen "hard" to get into the story. Over the years, talented narrators have popped up everywhere and made listening a real adventure. They get better and better. So, now when a narrator seems as though he/she is thinking of something else while telling this story, I am very disappointed.
Read full review

- Janet "A good narrator can make a mediocre book come alive. I love having a story read to me - it's a wonderful escape."

Excellent story. Terrible narration.

Is there anything you would change about this book?


What was one of the most memorable moments of Summer's Child?

Daria's prayers to keep the baby she found.

What didn’t you like about Carla Mercer-Meyer’s performance?

I feel as if I am listening to a new reader who is sounding out words as she reads. The narration is very stilted and unnatural. I almost returned the book because of the narration, but I was intrigued by the story.

Read full review

- Patricia

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-22-2015
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio