Storm Glass : Glass

  • by Maria V. Snyder
  • Narrated by Jennifer Van Dyck
  • Series: Glass
  • 12 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

As a glassmaker and a magician-in-training, Opal Cowen understands trial by fire. Now it's time to test her mettle. Someone has sabotaged the Stormdancer clan's glass orbs, killing their most powerful magicians. The Stormdancers--particularly the mysterious and mercurial Kade--require Opal's unique talents to prevent it happening again.But when the mission goes awry, Opal must tap in to a new kind of magic as stunningly potent as it is frightening. And the further she delves into the intrigue behind the glass and magic, the more distorted things appear.With lives hanging in the balance - including her own - Opal must control powers she hadn't known she possessed...powers that might lead to disaster beyond anything she's ever known.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Interesting character, no Gabra

I thoroughly enjoyed the previous series, and really looked forward to listening to this one. I was intrigued by the story and the author does a good job with making the story original (albeit a tad slow) while remaining grounded in the interesting world created in the previous series. The most significant negative is the narration.
The narrator isn't bad, she just has an impossible act to follow. Gabra Zackman took a good story and made it great, this lady takes a good story and leaves it more or less on the same level. Annoying things like the way she pronounces names and events from the previous series add to the disconnect between the series.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Distracting Narrator

I loved the Study Series by this author and got used to hearing Gabra Zackman's voice and pronounciation of words. I can understand wanting to use a different voice for Opal than for Yelena, but this narrator's voice does not fit the character. Opal is supposed to be 20, but the narrator's voice is that of a much older woman. Her pronunciation of many of the words is really off too. If you're going to switch narrators, at least get some consistency in pronunciation. In additon to that, the voices used for characters from the Study Series was totally different, which also really threw me. They really should bring Gabra Zackman back as narrator for any future books.

As for the book itself, it was okay. I think that the lack of self confidence in Opal was a little too drawn out. I would have liked to see her gain in self confidence sooner as it grew very tiresome to listen to her constant self doubt. So, while I mostly enjoyed the story, I think Opal is too weak to carry the story as the main character. The romance part of the book was a real let down and should have been left out as underdeveloped as it was. This book was a real disappointment after the Study Series.
Read full review

- Christine

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-01-2009
  • Publisher: Harlequin Books S.A.