Softly and Tenderly

  • by Sara Evans, Rachel Hauck
  • Narrated by Rebecca Gallagher
  • 8 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Maybe in the wide-open country she can learn to breathe again.... Happily married and owner of two successful boutiques, Jade longs to begin a family with her husband, Max. But when she discovers that Max has an illegitimate son — who he wants her to help raise — Jade’s life is turned upside down. She flees to her childhood home, a rambling Iowa farmhouse, with enough room to breathe. There — while her mother’s health grows fragile, and the tug of her first love grows stronger — Jade begins to question everything she thought she knew about family, love, and motherhood. In the wide-open landscape, Jade begins to see a future that doesn’t rest on the power of her past, but in the goodness of God’s tender mercies.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Softly and Tenderly

Love and trust and letting go are all parts of life in this story I related to. I have come to know the characters in these books as if I've known them all my life.

I can't wait to read the next book in the series. I want to see what happens in Jade's life. I am rooting for her and Max to make it. But I also know the feeling she has for Dustin.

I'm sure the next story will continue in the story of June and Rebel and Jade, Max and Asa. I'll miss Beryl. I enjoyed her feisty character.

Great series. Easy to relate. I enjoyed the way the narrator read each scene. Highly recommended.
Read full review

- Gigi

Amazing Book!

If you could sum up Softly and Tenderly in three words, what would they be?

Brillant, heart-breaking, Amazing

Who was your favorite character and why?


Have you listened to any of Rebecca Gallagher’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

Yes, and this is great...she is by far the best narrator

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

The road trip was liberating

Any additional comments?

Great love story! Awesome Narrator

Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-14-2011
  • Publisher: Oasis Audio