Regular price: $14.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $14.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Love! Julia Croft never thought she would actually fall in love with the man she set out to mislead. Surely he would forgive her if he knew the truth. Could he be so cold-hearted as to not see what her brother meant to her? Would he see that it was a matter of life and death that brought her to this deceitfulness?
Deceived! How could Caleb Armstrong, have allowed himself to be drawn into being enticed by a woman who merely used him? Now that he knew her ruse, he could easily rid himself of Julia Croft and her brother Miles. Surely there was a woman somewhere who could overlook his gimp leg. The most plaguing problem would be - could his heart ever forget her?
©2016 Barbara Goss (P)2017 Barbara Goss
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By 🇺🇸🌸DARA on 08-24-17

Shadow of Deceit

This is another wonderful book by Barbara Goss. I've had the opportunity now to enjoy several of her books and I can honestly say I haven't been disappointed at all. This book is another example of a good clean romance with some mystery. It's the kind of story that leaves you with a smile. Looking forward to more in this series.

Tom Jordan did a fabulous job narrating this book. He has the type of voice that is pleasing on the ears and works great in this type of genre. 😉

I received a copy of this story in exchange for an honest review.

Read More Hide me

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Cyn on 07-29-17

Sweet clean historical romance

Any additional comments?

I really loved the plot and the story it really pulls you in to the mystery of Julia who she really is, why does she needs a rich man and who is Billy? She went from almost predator preying on a rich man to this really sweet shy unsure woman. I really wanted to say would the real Julia stand up. That really throw me I was expecting her to come back as this really sassy lady who took control when she same back as the shy sweet little thing. I am not saying this is bad it just throw me and maybe me wonder if when she hit her head it may have changed her personality.

Mr. Jordan with his very talented voice blow me out of the ballpark from his tones to his deep sexy male voice and his sweet females that are sassy, sweet and just darling. His performance is outstanding as he pulls deep inside to bring out the emotion each character is feeling bring to life a very emotional story of deceit, family love and play games with people’s emotions to save the one thing that is important to one family. If any breaks where taken I could not tell, there are no background noises, no volume change nor any repeating of words. It is a very clean and clear audio that the narrator brings to life pulling on your heartstrings. You have no trouble knowing who is talking and just what they are feeling. You can hear the anger, excitement, and sorrow in his tones as he gives a compelling performance. This is the second audio of his I have listened to, it was just as wonderful as the first.

I thought this was a very meaningful story that really hooks you. There is a powerful message not only of God but of forgiveness which doesn’t always mean you forget this is very true to our normal life. It made me really wonder can you really forgive if you can’t forget. How can you forgive if the past deed keeps going through your mind? I really liked how religion was bought into it but isn’t the big part of the story. It is a story of deception it maybe for a good cause but it still is dishonest. I really think Caleb would have given the money had Julia been upfront in her defense she had no way of knowing that. The author really makes one think how far and what will you do to save a person you love. The only issue I had was the about face Julia did for me it just wasn’t smooth. She wasn’t evil and she didn’t come across as a spoiled brat just somewhere in between one minute she is so big, a little overpowering, she comes across as a user out to get what she can and the next she was shy unsure of herself. Besides that I thought it was a great story with a powerful message and one that makes us step back and think about how we deal with issues.

From the first book Caleb stole my heart wanting a family so much but with his disability making him feel that he would never find a woman. I really thought he was going to turn to someone else but there is a twist in the story which gets a little complicated. All in all it was a very enjoyable listen full of heartbreak, lies, but the important part here is learning to forgive, forget and get past so love can grow. It is learning to trust someone who let you down, if you can get past that than you can work out anything.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews