Regular price: $6.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $6.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A prank war erupts in Lake Sackett, Georgia, and coroner Frankie McCready has to turn to the gorgeous but surly new sheriff for help in Molly Harper's newest Southern Eclectic novella, perfect for fans of Kristan Higgins and Amy E. Reichert.
The McCready Family Funeral Home and Bait Shop has crickets running rampant in the store and hot sauce in the Snack Shack's ketchup bottles. But as the county coroner, Frankie has enough on her plate without worrying about the increasingly mean pranks being played at her family's business. And the arrival of Sheriff Eric Linden, both devastatingly attractive and painfully taciturn, is enough to push her over the edge.
Linden, who didn't seem to get the memo about men in uniform and Southern charm, is condescending and cold, revealing absolutely nothing about his past as an Atlanta police officer, while also making Frankie's job as coroner as difficult as possible. And with the town's Fourth of July celebration coming up, it's essential for McCready's to be cricket-free and in good working order. Strangling the sheriff will make her job even harder. Can Frankie hold off the threats to preserve her own sanity?
With her trademark "clever humor, snark, silliness, and endearing protagonists" (Booklist), Molly Harper invites fans to return to the family they first met in Sweet Tea and Sympathy. Y'all sit down and stay a while, won't you?
©2018 Molly Harper White (P)2018 Audible, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By ashley on 04-23-18

Unfinished

Let me start by saying that I love Molly Harper. I own every book she has written; the snark and sass are brilliant.

That being said, I felt like this was a cop-out. The set up to the story is great, but it is completely unfinished. It literally stops mid story. It makes me wonder if she couldn't get the whole thing written by the deadline and they just said, "we'll publish what we have and make the readers buy the second half of the story."

I am sincerely hoping that this trend doesn't continue. I also felt let down by Save a Truck, and Fangs for the Memories. Both were great, but were only the first half of the story. Save a Truck ended so abruptly that it was incredibly unsatisfying, which is not a sentiment I associate with Molly Harper.

Molly, I love your books, but please don't give us any more half stories!

Amanda Ronconi is amazing!

Read More Hide me

20 of 20 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By Melonie McMichael on 04-10-18

Just a teaser

The beginning of what might be a great book. it ends with little having happened beyond the story set up.

Read More Hide me

18 of 18 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
2 out of 5 stars
By Anna on 04-15-18

Not a full story

I love molly harper’s writing and her books, but this story is really only a first chapter of a ’real’ book and that should have been made clear in the description. This is not a novella in it’s real sense, and the price should have reflected that.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By I OFarrell on 05-21-18

Peachy

Harper’s books call to me on a level that I cannot ignore and definitely cannot deny. This particular series isn’t as long or evolved as Harper’s paranormal romances but her ability to make me laugh hasn’t dulled any. Franky is a cute character and Eric needs more story devoted to him because there’s potential in there, but the overall continuation of the story is interesting and, like I said, funny as hell. There is only one issue with the book and that is it is short. It is a novella and I expected that but it feels a little unfinished.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
1 out of 5 stars
By michela on 04-12-18

Two hours of drivel - what a joke

if I'd have noticed it was only two hours for the'whole' book which practically ends in the middle of a sentence, i would never have bought it. On top of that, it's absolutely rubbish.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews