Regular price: $24.49

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $24.49

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

When Regina's friends insist on setting her up a "Fantasy Fix" to help her get over her cheating ex, she dreams up some kinky out-of-this-world encounters that they could never possibly bring to life. But the next thing Regina knows, her friends have got her laced into a shiny black corset, tight leather pants, and a sexy pair of stilettos. It's time for some downtown vampire-fantasy fun...
The Vampire Ball in Manhattan's East Village isn't really Dmitri Vidame's idea of a good time, but as a member of the Council that governs the Others, he has to keep an eye on all the young vamps who prey on the pretenders. After he feasts his dark eyes on fiery Regina at the bar, he knows that he must have her. But for the first time Dmitri meets a woman who is more than a match for his indomitable will. And he may be the fantasy Regina hoped for...until she---and her feisty friends---discover her sexy new lover's bloodsucking secret.
©2008 Christine Warren (P)2011 Tantor
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Warren brings fascinating alternate realities to life." ( Romantic Times)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Erin on 08-25-12

Don't judge the entire Others series by Book 1

The Others series is actually quite good, although there are parts in the first book (One Bite With a Stranger) and even a couple in the next one (Big Bad Wolf) that resulted in cringing and were a bit difficult to get through. I look at it as enduring the growth process of the writer and being rewarded in the end for my troubles. This first book does have some really great stuff, but the sex scenes just miss the mark because they are a little too vulgar and/or a little too long and/or written in a way that makes what should be very hot kind of ... meh. Good news: The author does eventually figure it all out and achieves the right balance. Bad news: This starts happening in Book 2 and continues to improve in her later books.

HOWEVER, as far as the non-sex-related rest of the story goes, it is definitely worth the listen to get some background info and better understand the relationships of the characters as the series builds because you will see these people again in future installments. Also, you do have Kate Reading who is an amazing performer and one of the best narrators out there.

As an aside, I originally read Wolf at the Door because it was mistakenly listed as the first book in the series (though it is Book 8 or 9 actually), and I liked it enough to go back and listen to the earlier ones. Because of the bad reviews on OBWAS, I skipped it and got Big Bad Wolf before finally giving this one a try. Since I am not sure I would have stuck with the series if I had started with this one, my advice is either to start with this first book, knowing that the writing gets much better as the series progresses, or to just get the one that most interests you, as I believe they will all make enough sense to stand alone, and then see if that leads you to want to hear the entire series.

Read More Hide me

16 of 20 people found this review helpful

1 out of 5 stars
By joseph on 01-18-12

This Series went from SciFi Fantasy, to Erotica!

Not my favorite series in the world, but one I'll listen to in between other books. Usually there books are more of a light paranormal love stories with a bit of action, sex and "mating", with the envitable impossible love connection in the end. This one, well I have no problem with erotica, if that's what I'm wanting or expecting to listen to. But this book they took the sex scenes to a whole other level. It just went on and on and on and on and on. Instead of the book having a story with a few love scenes, this book had a huge sex scene with little doses of story. Ha ha! Even worse having one of my most adored narrators reading it. I just laughed. It was ridiculous.

Read More Hide me

7 of 9 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews