Regular price: $24.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

John Thornton is facing the collapse of everything he has worked for all of his life. Through his banker, he hears about a potential business opportunity that could save the mill. He decides to investigate, even if it means traveling from home when he can least afford it.
Margaret Hale, now living in London, learns that her godfather Mr. Bell is visiting her brother Frederick in Cadiz. Bell is dying, and asking to see her before it is too late. She is determined to sail, regardless of the risk.
An accident on the docks leaves Margaret injured, and throws both together on the same ship. Thornton, resolved to protect Margaret's honor despite their painful history, claims to be her brother to keep her safe. Unfortunately, pretending to be Margaret's brother proves more difficult - and more dangerous - than he might have expected.
©2015 Terri Clark (P)2016 Terri Clark
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Deborah on 10-02-16

John Thornton won my heart

I listened to the audio book and this story is a must read or listen to. John Thornton, who is travelling to Spain to save his mill, runs into Miss Hale who is also travelling to the same location. She is injured and travelling alone, so Mr. Thornton travels as her brother. We get to know John's mother , Hannah more thoroughly as well as Frederick (Margaret's brother) and his wife. I fell in love with the honorable, honest, strong John Thornton more than ever during this story. It was so well put together. I recommend this to anyone who loves Darcy, yes Darcy, as he is a Darcy in a later age. The narrator Ana Clements did a phenomenal job bringing the characters to life and brought out the nuances of the story with such skill. I highly recommend the audiobook and highly recommend this story to lovers of JAFF and Darcy.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful


By Appalaa on 06-09-17

A Spicy Spanish Adventure

What did you love best about No Such Thing as Luck?

With a voyage, an accident, an exotic location, a villain, a fist-fight, a wedding, a death, a fugitive, the threat of execution, and plenty of steamy make-out sessions, NSTAL makes a fine plot for a blockbuster film. I loved that Margaret and John rediscover each other in locations foreign to them. It's adventurous with a dash of danger. I loved the flamboyant villain, Jiro. Jiro’s machinations only prove John to be the the brave and selfless knight in shining armour we know he can be, and who doesn’t swoon at that? We’re also introduced to some new characters on the voyage, and we meet Frederick and his family in Spain. Plus, there's plenty of John and Margaret makeout sessions!

How would you have changed the story to make it more enjoyable?

There can be too much of a good thing though. For me there was a bit too much kissing too early in the story. Part of the fun is the angst, so I would have preferred a slower burn.There’s also a bit too much plot. There's a lot of action, which can actually be a great thing for most readers, but I’m old-school so I prefer to explore a character's inner world a bit more.

What does Ana Clements bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Ana Clements is an accent wizard, seamlessly transitioning from Northern to Southern, Spanish to French. She brought the right touch of tenderness and heat to John and Margaret's more intimate moments. I found her tone and rhythm relaxing. She definitely gets a thumbs up from me.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Yes, I laughed at several places. But if you've read Nicole's books, that's to be expected. :)

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Inishowen Cailin on 09-26-17

Great! - Recommended

I'd recommend this for fans of North and South as the story is very sympathetic to the original book. The characters felt very true to their counterparts in the original version and I could easily picture them in my mind's eye in this variation.
I felt that the narrator's performance of Mr. Thornton sounded very monotone in the beginning but I soon got used to it. I liked the subtle northern accent which was well done.
I loved the story line and I wouldn't hesitate to buy more from the author.

I voluntarily reviewed a gifted copy.

Read More Hide me

By Jan M on 09-19-17

Excellent Listen!!!

I really enjoyed listening to this book. I haven't listened to many Victorian Romances (mid 1800's) but found this one to pull me in. I thought the story was very well written.

John Thornton and Margaret Hale were two endearing characters. I loved Thornton for how chivalrous and honorable he was, and for what he was willing to sacrifice.

Regarding the narrator, Ana Clements. I was impressed with her multitude of various character voices and accents she performed. I love it when a narrator has distinguishable characters.

One of my favorite parts of the book was near the ending when Margaret and Mrs. Thorton met at White Chapel.

I was given a copy of this audiobook and selected to write my review. I will definitely look for more books by both the author and narrator.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc