Music in the Hills : Drumberley

  • by D. E. Stevenson
  • Narrated by Lesley Mackie
  • Series: Drumberley
  • 8 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

After spending time combatting terrorists in Malaya, James Dering returns to Scotland. He starts a new life at Mureth House, the home of his aunt and uncle, Mamie and Jock Johnstone, where he hopes to learn to be a farmer. But he soon learns that picking up farming isn't an easy task and is made even more complicated by the unexpected ups and down of rural village life. Sheep-stealing crooks, village gossip, lovestruck teenage runaways, and a brunette bombshell all disturb the peaceful solitude James had willingly signed up for. And, of course, there's Rhoda Ware, the woman he left behind....
Could she be the key to James' happiness?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Return to Scotland

Dorothy Emily Stevenson (D. E. Stevenson), first cousin once removed to Robert Louis Stevenson and born in Edinburgh sets many of her delightful novels in Scotland. In this novel, set and written in the early 1950's when the impact of WWII, including rationing of food and petrol (gasoline) was still impacting the island of Britain, James returns from military service in the Far East to live on a farm in the Scottish boarders area with his aunt and uncle and learn to be a farmer.

This book contains some mystery, some romance, and much more. Real characters that the reader comes to care about. A location in Scotland that is a delight.

This book is the second in a trilogy. The first, Vittoria Cottage, is already available from Audible. Hopefully the third (titled Winter and Rough Weather in England and Shoulder the Sky in the US) will be added soon. Leslie Mackie has a delightful Scots accent that adds a touch of atmosphere to the story, while still being easy for the American listener to understand.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Good, Relaxing Story

Not great literature, but a good, gentle story delivered in a pleasing way. This is the second story in the series.
Read full review

- Mama C

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-01-2017
  • Publisher: Soundings