Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Mark Houston has done the unthinkable.
The US Marine has fallen in love with his buddy's fiancée, Libby Clifton. When Jon is killed in action, Mark elects to accompany the body home. After he completes his sorrowful duty, he walks away. She might be the only woman he'll ever love, but she isn't his to comfort. She never will be.
The sad truth is Jon never loved her.
Running from grief, Libby trades country life for big city Chicago, but thoughts of Mark and the tenderness of their last encounter linger. When an overseas drug cartel strikes deep in the heart of America, Mark drops into her life again. The cartel wants the kilos of opium hidden six-feet under with her dead fiancée. But opium isn't the only thing that's buried.
©2014 Patricia C. Dodge (P)2016 Patricia C. Dodge
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Just My Opinion on 05-20-16

Loved It!

This story tugged at my heartstrings right from the beginning and I loved it! I fell in love with Mark right away and my heart went out to both he and Libby. Mark had to inform Libby that her fiancé, and his best friend, was killed in the line up of duty. As if that wasn't difficult enough, he has been secretly in love with her and knows she can never be his. A drug cartel changes life for both of them when they go after Libby & her family and Mark is assigned to keep her safe. I really enjoyed this story, even a bit more than the first one in the series. There are many characters in this series that I am anxiously looking forward to reading about. Can hardly wait for the next book coming to audible!
Troy Duran once again does an amazing job narrating and bringing the story to life!

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By cheri on 10-19-17

Mark: In the Company of Snipers, Book 2

As always, the author grabs all of my emotions. Mark is the best friend of John who was engaged to the woman Mark loves. He has made no moves on her and becomes her support system when John is Killed in Action. After the funeral, he leaves to start his new life and she continues her new life in a new city. It is sad, yet when the truth comes out and everyone finally admits it the story changes.

Mark is the new guy on the team and having the usual adjustments. There were some touching scenes with a family in Afganistan, a wonderful view of the people, as well as some of the daily terror the people live with. Mark returned when Libby and her family were in danger from a drug cartel. They begin to admit their own feelings.

The danger is so much more than any of them expected. Loved ones were at risk. As her bodyguard, protection assignment they renew their relationship and their feelings grow. How they are connected to the danger doesn't come out for some time. Is it too late for Libby?

I love the team who are a family. It is that place to come for these warriors who are often wounded in mind and need a place to call home. Mark has a hard time accepting it because of his history.

There will be some surprises. Some mysteries solved. And a view of what love can be. I very strong recommendation for this and the entire series.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews