Mail-Order Brides of the West, Book 4: Prudence : Montana Sky

  • by Debra Holland
  • Narrated by Lara Asmundson
  • Series: Montana Sky
  • 6 hrs and 0 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Shrewish Prudence Crawford is the last woman left at the Mail-Order Brides of the West Agency, because she's rejected every match offered to her as not good enough. One-by-one, she's watched her fellow brides leave for their new lives and has heard tales of their happiness, and she wants that for herself - but not just any man. She will only take a husband who offers wealth and status.
Michael Morgan struck it rich in mining, or at least richer than anyone else in the tiny town of Morgan's Crossing, Montana. He's built himself the nicest house in town, which isn't saying much when there are only 10 homes in the whole place. He's elected himself mayor of the population of 61 inhabitants and keeps his kingdom under tight control. When he hears stories of the mail-order brides arriving in nearby Sweetwater Springs, he decided to send for a wife, even if he has to exaggerate a mite to attract one.
A wealthy mine owner who's the mayor of a town named after him and has a mansion sounds perfect to Prudence, even if the place is too close to the other mail-order brides whom she dislikes. But when Michael and his circumstances are not what Prudence dreamed, tempers flare and the fighting begins.
Can Michael tame the shrew, or are they destined to have a miserable marriage?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Well, Debra, you did it!

What was one of the most memorable moments of Mail-Order Brides of the West, Book 4: Prudence?

I loved the whole book!

What about Lara Asmundson’s performance did you like?

I loved the way Lara performed Prudence! She captured the snooty, arrogant, selfish Pru as well as the unsure, nice and fun Pru. As Prudence started changing, Lara still kept the "spunk" in her. I loved that.

Any additional comments?

Arrogant, selfish, whiney woman meets egotistical, lying, lonely man makes for an explosive yet fun story! But it is not all claws and flying fur. As Prudence and Michael mature individually, they also grow closer to one another and that leads to a love that spills out to others.

In Debra's other books, Prudence was the one character I loved to dislike and hoped to get her come-uppens. As I was reading her story, however, Prudence's back story and the way Debra wrote her character caused me to really feel for her. By the end of the book, I was cheering for this once arrogant brat turned feisty wife. I hope to see Michael and Prudence in further books! You did it, Debra, you made me really love Prudence (and Michael)!

This copy of this book was given to me for evaluation. Thank you for the honor.

Read full review

- A.P.Reader

Another wonderful old western...

I just adore reading these old westerns. This story "Prudence" is set back in the late 1800s. I enjoy hearing of ways the women made things happen. I love meeting characters again from past books too. Imagine living back in a time with no electric or plumbing. It's a place I like to visit, but I wouldn't want to live there.

These novels are set from Mail order Brides of the West. Back in this time, it was acceptable to order a wife. The stories are clean and fun and left me with a comfort and love for the community feelings. Back then, strangers actually cared for one another and would give you the shirt off their back!

In this story, I love how Prudence has learned and made a total 180 of her life for love.

The author, Debra Holland did a wonderful job on this story. Great plot, well written monologues too. I love how all these stories are based in either Sweetwater, Montana or Yknot, Montana so all the brides can remain friends and family! The narrator, Lara Asmundson does a great delivery in this book (as she always does). I love her accents and multiple voices. I also love how from one book to the next, the voices are always the same for each well known character. Great job ladies!
Read full review

- Terri

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-06-2015
  • Publisher: Debra Holland