Leaving Independence

  • by Leanne W. Smith
  • Narrated by Nicol Zanzarella
  • 11 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Abigail Baldwyn might not be a widow after all....
Ever since she received word that her husband, Robert, was killed in the Civil War, Abigail has struggled to keep her Tennessee home and family together. Then a letter arrives claiming that Robert isn't dead, yet he has no plans to return. Desperate for answers, Abigail travels to Independence, Missouri, where she joins a westbound wagon train to find him.
Leading a company along the Oregon Trail isn't part of Hoke Mathews's plans. But then the former cavalry scout gets a glimpse of Abigail - so elegant compared to the rest of their hardscrabble wagon community, yet spirited and resilient. Through every peril they encounter - snakebites, Indian raids, fevers, dangerous grudges - his bond with Abigail grows.
Abigail knew this journey would test her courage. Now it's testing her marriage vows and her heart, daring her to claim a future on her own terms in a land rich with promise.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Loved this story! Found it a great read.

Can't wait to read more from this author and would love to read a sequel to this story.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Absolutely LOVE this book. Definitely a re-listen

Where does Leaving Independence rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

One of my absolute favorites. I will definitely re-listen to this title. I listen to 3 to 5 audiobooks a week. That's saying something.

What did you like best about this story?

The story was really good! I loved it! Her characters were well written, loved and hated perspectively. I loved the way she had their inner most thoughts and feelings discussed. Making these characters completely relate-able and understandable.

Have you listened to any of Nicol Zanzarella’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

She was the perfect narrator for this story. Can't imagine another voice revealing this story to us.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Several moments. That's what makes the book so good. I really enjoyed so many moments. But my favorite (SPOILER) was him dunking her in the creek. Totally awesome!!!

Any additional comments?

Nothin' but love for this story!

Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-21-2016
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio