Last of the Red Hot Firefighters : Fire and Icing

  • by Jessie Evans
  • Narrated by Piper Goodeve
  • Series: Fire and Icing
  • 4 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Some fires never burn out...
After 10 years as America's sweetest celebrity chef, Naomi Whitehouse is enjoying life out of the spotlight, back in her hometown of Summerville, Georgia. She's opening a pastry shop with her sister, housesitting for her snowbird parents, and reconnecting with her roots. Life is good until she runs into her high school sweetheart, Jake Hansen, a sexy firefighter who gives her a reception chilly enough to freeze a forest fire. If Naomi wants her homecoming to remain all cupcakes and sugar cookies, she'll have to win Jake over. But how can she earn his forgiveness when he won't even speak to her?
When the girl who broke his heart buys a month of dates at the firefighter's Hunk-for-a-Month fundraiser auction, only honor keeps widower Jake Hansen from backing out of the commitment. He won't let the firehouse down, even if it means enduring a torturous month with Naomi Whitehouse. And Jake knows being close to Naomi again will be torture. Even after all these years, she still gets to him...not that he intends to let her know it. He'll be civil, honor his obligation, and with any luck Naomi will tire of playing small-town pastry chef and Jake will never see her again.
But as the month passes, Jake and Naomi discover some fires never burn out. Will the heat between them be enough to melt away the pain of past mistakes, or is their second chance doomed from the start?
Fans of Bella Andre, Kristan Higgins, and Susan Mallery will love the Summerville romance series, stories featuring sassy Southern women and the alpha males who love them.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A great start to the series

Where does Melt with You rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

Jessie Evans is one of my favorite authors, and I love all of her books. Really, all of them. Melt With You is just as wonderful a story as the rest, and I both enjoyed reading and listening to it.


What other book might you compare Melt with You to and why?

Other books in the Fire & Icing series, as well as Jessie's Always A Bridesmaid books, in that they revolve around different members of the same family, and are also set in Summerville, GA.


Which scene was your favorite?

I have a lot of favorite scenes, but I loved the ones where Naomi and Jake work out their differences with each other.


Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

I wanted to, but was not able to. It really is addictive, and I couldn't wait to hear what happened next.


Any additional comments?

Piper Goodeve does a fantastic job at narrating this book. She just really captures characters' personalities so well.

Read full review

- coffeegoddesstk

Decent listen

While the heroine wasn't my favorite this was actually a good story. Be warned while you not like the heroine you will like the story. Author does a good job of telling a story. Narrator does a good job of bringing story to life
Read full review

- Snoopyvet (Karen)

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-08-2015
  • Publisher: Self Taught Ninja Inc