Regular price: $32.87

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $32.87

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Jane Austen and Charlotte Brontë, debut author Julie Klassen delivers a compelling Regency Era novel brimming with authentic period details, vibrant characters, and enthralling plot twists. Banished from hearth and home, a vicar's 20-year-old daughter pays dearly for a single lapse in judgment. To avoid the scorn of local villagers, Charlotte Lamb wends her way to the forbidding Milkweed Manor on the outskirts of London. Concealing her identity, she finds refuge within the dank confines of this mysterious bastion of old secrets and new life. She soon encounters a former suitor, harboring secrets of his own. Firmly relying on God's strength, both resolve to protect their loved ones. But neither realizes the level of self-sacrifice this will require.
©2007 Julie Klassen; (P)2008 Recorded Books,LLC
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Wendy on 02-09-11

PART MISSING!!

I hoped that since the previous review was clear back in April of 2010 this missing part would be fixed but alas it was not. It is a disappointment. It is such a good story and good narration. I hope audible will make amends for this.

Read More Hide me

11 of 11 people found this review helpful


By Judith on 03-25-10

Missing portion

I liked the book and the narrator very much. However, the recording I got was missing part of chapter 28 through Chapter 30. I don't know if this has been fixed yet. The original recording is supposed to be 12 hr. and 25 minutes. This one was 11 hr. and 48 minutes.

Read More Hide me

9 of 9 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2017 Audible, Inc