Lady of Milkweed Manor

  • by Julie Klassen
  • Narrated by Simon Prebble
  • 12 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Jane Austen and Charlotte Brontë, debut author Julie Klassen delivers a compelling Regency Era novel brimming with authentic period details, vibrant characters, and enthralling plot twists. Banished from hearth and home, a vicar's 20-year-old daughter pays dearly for a single lapse in judgment. To avoid the scorn of local villagers, Charlotte Lamb wends her way to the forbidding Milkweed Manor on the outskirts of London. Concealing her identity, she finds refuge within the dank confines of this mysterious bastion of old secrets and new life. She soon encounters a former suitor, harboring secrets of his own. Firmly relying on God's strength, both resolve to protect their loved ones. But neither realizes the level of self-sacrifice this will require.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

PART MISSING!!

I hoped that since the previous review was clear back in April of 2010 this missing part would be fixed but alas it was not. It is a disappointment. It is such a good story and good narration. I hope audible will make amends for this.
Read full review

- Wendy

Missing portion

I liked the book and the narrator very much. However, the recording I got was missing part of chapter 28 through Chapter 30. I don't know if this has been fixed yet. The original recording is supposed to be 12 hr. and 25 minutes. This one was 11 hr. and 48 minutes.
Read full review

- Judith

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-31-2008
  • Publisher: Recorded Books