Gather the Bones

  • by Alison Stuart
  • Narrated by Earworm Narration
  • 9 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

England, 1923. The Great War still casts a dark shadow. Grieving widow Helen Morrow and her husband's cousin, the wounded and reclusive Paul, are haunted not only by the horrors of the trenches but by ghosts from another time and another conflict.
The desperate voice of a young woman reaches out to them from the pages of a coded diary and Paul and Helen are bound together in their search for answers, not only to the old mystery but also the circumstances surrounding the death of Helen's husband at Passchandaele in 1917.
As the two stories become entwined, Paul and Helen will not find peace or happiness until the mysteries are solved.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Love in the aftermath of war

I won a copy of this wonderful audiobook and I thoroughly it, so I first must say thanks to Alison Stuart for sending me the audible code.

In the aftermath of WWI, young widow Helen Morrow travels from her Australia home to the English estate of her deceased husband with their daughter, Alice, in search of knowledge about his life and death. But the estate is haunted not only by the horrors of the Great War, but also by the tragic life and death of another couple who lived at the estate during another war--the war in Spain. Her husband's reclusive cousin Paul was with him the night he died, but his memories are locked away behind walls of loss and pain. As Paul and Helen grieve her husband's loss, will the ghosts of the past continue to haunt them as well? Will investigating the estate's mysterious ghosts draw Helen and Paul together, or will their shared history of loss drive them apart?

This story drew me in right from the beginning and wouldn't let go. Once I started listening, I had to finish this book all in one go. I can't wait to discover more of Alison Stuart's historical fiction.
Read full review

- Sam

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-16-2016
  • Publisher: Oportet Publishing