Fish and Ghosts : Hellsinger

  • by Rhys Ford
  • Narrated by Tristan James
  • Series: Hellsinger
  • 8 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

When his Uncle Mortimer died and left him Hoxne Grange, the family's Gilded Age mansion, Tristan Pryce became the second generation of Pryces to serve as a caretaker for the estate, a way station for spirits on their final steps to the afterlife. Tristan is prepared for challenges, though not necessarily from the ghosts he's seen since childhood. Determined to establish Tristan's insanity and gain access to his trust fund, his loving relatives hire Dr. Wolf Kincaid and his paranormal researchers, Hellsinger Investigations, to prove the Grange is not haunted.
Skeptic Wolf Kincaid has made it his life's work to debunk the supernatural. After years of cons and fakes, he can't wait to reveal the Grange's ghostly activity is just badly leveled floorboards and a drafty old house. More than a few surprises await him at the Grange, including its prickly, reclusive owner. Tristan Pryce is much less insane and much more attractive than Wolf wants to admit, and when his team releases a ghostly serial killer on the Grange, Wolf is torn between his skepticism and protecting the man he's been sent to discredit.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A different kind of Ghost busters.

If you could sum up Fish and Ghosts in three words, what would they be?

Spooky.. Sexy... Hysterical

What other book might you compare Fish and Ghosts to and why?

Definitely the Cole McGinnis series, Wolf and Cole both have the same dry, sarcastic, slap stick sense of humor.

Which scene was your favorite?

The entire book was my favorite scene! I did really laugh my ass off though when Wolf woke up after a drunk night with the dog stretched out over his chest, instead of a softer, sexier Tristan.

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

Something slightly spooky this way comes.

Any additional comments?

Tristan Price has a keen eye for ghosts, he's been seeing and communicating with them since he was a child. The only place he ever felt comfortable in his own skin, found solace, was at Hoxne Grange with his uncle Mortimer. When Mortimer dies and leaves the estate to young Tristan, his beloved relatives make it their mission in life to prove Tristan is bat shit crazy. The task of proving Tristan's questionable state of mind falls on Wolf Kincaid, the owner and lead investigator of Hellsinger Investigations, paranormal researchers. It's not that Tristan doesn't believe in the concept of ghosts and hauntings, it's that he knows all too well that the majority of the time, the haunting is a hoax. Not so much this time around.

​After spending just a few hours at Hoxne Grange, Wolf is certain of two things. Tristan may be a bit eccentric, but he's not crazy, sexy as all get out, but not crazy. The attraction is mutual, immediate and almost magnetic in its intensity. While they both fight it for a while, Tristan far harder than Wolf, it gets to a point where it almost seems like the house is pushing them into each other's arms. Trying to figure out whether or not they should pursue said attraction is the least of this twosomes troubles. Hoxne Grange goes from a friendly ghost hotel to the haunted mansion in a matter of hours and the malevolent spirit that now roams the halls recognizes Tristan's unique ability, and she wants in.

Rhys Ford's wicked sense of humor is present and accounted for in the hauntingly sexy, delightfully funny story. Wolf Kincaid is this larger than life presence that swoops into Tristan's world and really just turns it upside down. And while the attraction was intense and immediate, the connection took a little while to develop. Wolf is a skeptic by nature, knowing that there is the possibility of spirits and such, but being shown more often than not that what people claim to be, to see, is a farce. Tristan has never met anyone life Wolf Kincaid. The man is a force of nature, storming into Tristan's repetitive life and making him want things he never thought he was worthy of. They balance each other in the oddest way.

Narrated by Tristan James who has one of the most amazing voices. The man could read me my grocery list and I swear I would hang off of every word. His voice is melodic and entrancing and he has this way of capturing the soul of a character right down to the odd little quirks and characteristics of that person and bringing them out in his narration. Add his voice to Ford's uniquely detailed storyline and what you have is a work of art for your senses. The writing as always is amazing, layered with rich characters and intermingling storylines full of passion, intrigue and an almost hysterical sense of humor that is trademark Rhys Ford.

Fans of Fords books and James works will, of course, love this little gem. If you are new to either or both and you enjoy ghost stories with an edge, sexy guy on guy action, paranormal romance and a whole lot of wild, ruckus humor, you'll love this book!

Read full review

- Tams (TTC Books and more) "Avid reader, reviewer, blogger and budding author."

Tristan and Rhys: a match made in heaven

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Absolutely! I love Rhys Ford as an author and Tristan is one of my favorite narrators.

Who was your favorite character and why?

In the audio version it was Wolf - Tristan makes his voice very rumbly and seductive - very enjoyable to listen to.

What does Tristan James bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

As was said in a previous review - Tristan could read the phonebook and it would sound sexy! He is so easy to listen to - audio candy!

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

No - but only because I wanted to savor it.

Any additional comments?

I can't wait for Duck Duck Ghost to come out next - pretty please!

Read full review

- Morgan A Skye

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-15-2014
  • Publisher: Dreamspinner Press LLC