Finding Rebecca

  • by Eoin Dempsey
  • Narrated by Napoleon Ryan
  • 9 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Nothing could keep Christopher and Rebecca apart: not her abusive parents, or even the fiancé she brought home after running away to England. But when World War II finally strikes the island of Jersey, the Nazi invaders ship Rebecca to Europe as part of Hitler’s Final Solution against the Jewish population.
After Christopher and his family are deported back to their native Germany, he volunteers for the Nazi SS, desperate to save the woman he loves. He is posted to Auschwitz and finds himself put in control of the money stolen from the victims of the gas chambers. As Christopher searches for Rebecca, he struggles to not only maintain his cover, but also the grip on his soul. Managing the river of tainted money flowing through the horrific world of Auschwitz may give him unexpected opportunities. But will it give him the strength to accept a brave new fate that could change his life - and others’ lives - forever?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

I couldn't finish it

The narrator was very good. That's all the good I have to say about this book. I listened for about an hour and 1/2 and then stopped. It just plodded along. I didn't think the character development was done very well. The author didn't engross me in the story. It seemed a bit disjointed. The story was about 9 hrs long and at 1.5 hrs in I was thinking either 'lets get this party started or hurry up and end.' I decided to end it early and put myself out of my misery.
Read full review

- Delah "Which came first... the books or the glasses?"

Immature Writing

Inexpertly researched, "sight-only" description, clumsy characterization, rushed plot and a weak premise, coupled with modern sensibilities smeared over 20th century scenes and dialogue that makes characters indistinguishable from each other. I wanted so badly to love this book, but bad writing ruined it in only six chapters.
Read full review

- S06N

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-28-2014
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio