Regular price: $27.99

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $27.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Marlowe is a pickpocket, a housebreaker - and a better actress than any professional on the stage. She runs with the Covent Garden Cubs, a gang of thieves living in the slums of London's Seven Dials. It's a fierce life, and Marlowe has a hard outer shell. But when she's alone, she allows herself to think of a time before - a dimly remembered life when she was called Elizabeth.
Maxwell, Lord Dane, is intrigued when his brother, a hired investigator, ropes him into his investigation of the fiercely beautiful hellion. He teaches her to navigate the social morass of the ton, but Marlowe will not escape so easily. Instead Dane is drawn into her dangerous world, where the student becomes the teacher and love is the greatest risk of all.
©2015 Shana Galen (P)2015 Tantor
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Good chemistry, solid writing, and an interesting plot are all present." ( Publishers Weekly)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Maine Knitter on 08-15-15

Love love love this!

Oh my, I loved this! I fell in love with Elizabeth as a 5-year old. She loved pink, she loved being 5, she loved it when her mother put her to bed instead of nanny. What a sweet little girl. Then her life is changed dramatically.

I did not want this book to end. I truly loved it. The characters were wonderful There were laugh-out-loud funny lines and then tearful emotional points. Marlowe was a fish out of water at the Earl's townhouse after living most of her life in the rookeries. Her relationship with Dane develops over (little) time and, of course, he helps to end her life of crime.

The end is touching. The narrator of the audiobook did a fabulous job with this.

My favorite Shana Galen book yet.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Minks on 11-08-16

Crazy ride!

This was a great story with a lot of twist and turns. A real life Cinderella story that takes place in the 1800's. Worth the credit.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc