Defiant : MacKinnon's Rangers

  • by Pamela Clare
  • Narrated by Kaleo Griffith
  • Series: MacKinnon's Rangers
  • 14 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Major Connor MacKinnon despises his commander, Lord William Wentworth, beyond all other men. Ordered to rescue Wentworth's niece after the Shawnee take her captive, he expects Lady Sarah Woodville to be every bit as contemptible as her uncle. Instead, he finds a brave and beautiful lass in desperate peril. But the only way to free Sarah is for Connor to defeat the Shawnee warrior who kidnapped her - and claim her himself.
Torn by tragedy from her sheltered life in London, Lady Sarah is unprepared for the harshness of the frontier - or for the attraction she feels toward Connor. When they reach civilization, however, it is she who must protect him. For if her uncle knew all that Connor had done to save her, he would surely kill him.
But the flames of passion, once kindled, are difficult to deny. As desire transforms into love, Connor will have to defy an empire to keep Sarah at his side.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

In a word......Exceptional!

This series has taken me on a journey that I will not soon forget. All three books deliver heartwarming adventures filled with history, romance, and true life heartbreaks. The author develops characters that seem so real that many times I found myself feeling emotions I don't always feel from books. A few times I even laughed out loud.

Defiant is the third book of the Mackinnon's Rangers series and this book tells Connor's story. Without giving the plot away Connor meets Sarah in a extraordinary way and through frightening and suspenseful circumstances their love grows. It is a touching love story that no one should miss.

Although this is meant to be a trilogy, I've heard that there may be more books added to this series. I sincerely hope that this is true.

This book, as well as the whole series, is definitely worth the credits over and over again.

Read full review

- 🇺🇸🍁DARA

Another Captivating Treasure!!

Defiant is third book in this romantic, sexy, and completely addictive MacKinnon’s Rangers series. This is installment is about the youngest MacKinnon, Connor and sweet angelic Sarah’s journey to find love. Such a powerful & breathtaking story that will touch your heart. I believe this is the best story in the series. Connor McKinnon, is a strong sexy warrior, whose loving, loyal and protective of the people he cares for. However, he constantly struggles with feeling remorseful of the brutal things that he has done to survive the war. This book begins with Lord William commanding Connor & Joseph to find his neice Lady Sarah and rescue her from her indian kidnappers. They go searching for her expecting to find a spoiled princess and instead find a courageous young woman. Lady Sarah Woodville is strong, compassionate and extremely courageous. She has endured a lot in such a short time. When Connor & Joseph arrive at the Shawnee village and overcome some trials to save Lady Sarah, who impressed them with her strength and bravery in the face of her captors abuse. Connor wins her freedom, but not without consequences which bring him and Sarah together. Over the long, dangerous trip back to Fort Edward, Connor and Sarah forge a relationship based on mutual attraction and admiration but know a future s impossible between a high born English lady and a Scottish frontiersman. But then a surprising turn of events causes Connor, along with help from his family and friends, to fight to have Sarah in his life forever no matter the danger and obstacles. Sarah finds her strength & peace in Connor and would love nothing more than just be just plain Sarah without her nobility. I was utterly enthralled from the very first page. Pamela Clare makes you feel the characters every emotion; their happiness and despair; their desires and fears, guilt and loneliness, along with each threat they faced. I was immersed in every single moment of this tale of danger, survival, betrayal, forgiveness, bravery, sacrifice, and most of all deeply passionate love story. Honestly, I don't believe many authors can paint a more vivid picture with words quite like Pamela Clare. She provides so much historical detail which includes even the savagery & violence that was an integral part of this period in colonial history. The way the author portrays each person shows great depth. Everyone can be described the same in ways. The natives have the same potential to be noble and honorable as the whites. Both show equal potential for acts of brutality. All the characters have totally invaded my heart! The narrator is phenomenal & absolutely superb!!! This story was beautifully told and brought tears to my eyes on numerous occasions while listening. Obviously, I highly recommend the whole MacKinnon series by Pamela Clare. I would start in order Surrender, Untamed and lastly Defiant. If you like historical romance combined with some steamy passion & a swoon worthy hero than you're going to want to purchase this these books especially this one:)
Read full review

- Jordy ♡♡♡♡

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-26-2013
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio