• by Danielle Steel
  • Narrated by Richard Thomas
  • 3 hrs and 0 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Oliver Watson's world suddenly dissolves around him when Sarah, his wife of 18 years, returns to Harvard to get her master's degree. Oliver is left on his own, with three children and a freedom he never wanted and doesn't completely understand. His family's needs and demands suddenly consume his life.
When Oliver's mother is diagnosed as having Alzheimer's disease and dies soon thereafter, Oliver's father's life is changed, as well. Braver than his son with less of a future before him, George Watson, at 72, quickly embraces new relationships and, eventually, a new life. The sudden changes come as a shock to both father and son.
Ben, Oliver's oldest son, rejects his father and reaches outward, under the illusion that he is grown-up and can make it on his own. Melissa, the middle child, blames Oliver for her mother's desertion. And Sam, the "baby," is too shaken to deal with it at all. Now the only parent, Daddy must somehow cope with this, his troubled family, and explore a world of new responsibilities, new women, and new experiences. Each of the three men must start a new life: Oliver in New York and then in Los Angeles with his children, once he faces the biggest change in his life; his widowed father with the woman next door; and 17-year-old Ben with his girlfriend and baby. Nothing is as it was before.... Nothing is as they once thought it would be. But in the end, different is better.... Different is more...for each of them - and especially for Daddy.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

daddy another great one

love all Danielle Steels books. I've read most 2 or 3 times but love listening
Read full review

- Andre Rancourt


I enjoyed this one. Of course, Richard Thomas is a wonderful narrator. I just love his voice.

Read full review

- Kindle Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-05-2012
  • Publisher: Random House Audio