• by Georgette Heyer
  • Narrated by Clare Wille
  • 5 hrs and 7 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Young Kitty Charing stands to inherit a vast fortune from her irascible great-uncle Matthew - provided she marries one of her cousins. Kitty is not wholly adverse to the plan, if the right nephew proposes. Unfortunately, Kitty has set her heart on Jack Westruther, a confirmed rake, who seems to have no inclination to marry her anytime soon. In an effort to make Jack jealous, and to see a little more of the world than her isolated life on her great-uncle's estate has afforded her, Kitty devises a plan. She convinces yet another of her cousins, the honorable Freddy Standen, to pretend to be engaged to her. Her plan would bring her to London on a visit to Freddy's family and (hopefully) render the elusive Mr. Westruther madly jealous. Thus begins Cotillion, arguably the funniest, most charming of Georgette Heyer's many delightful Regency romances. Cotillion is here presented in Naxos AudioBooks style, with classical music enhancing the production. This is the first of two Heyer titles planned for 2009. Clare Wille was widely praised for her reading of Cranford.


What the Critics Say

"My favourite historical novelist." (Margaret Drabble)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Competent but not brilliant

Firstly this is ABRIDGED, so you will miss many of your favourite lines eg "you have your own armour, do you not Frederick" "french Gabster!" etc. It is competently read, the reader does a good job with Freddy and Kitty, but is not as sure with some of the minor characters. I'd say pay the extra money and get the unabridged version. If your love Georgette Heyer, you will want every line.
Read full review

- Hazel

An Abbreviated Cotillion

This abridged version covers the main plot lines and the narrator is good, but as a Georgette Heyer fan I was disappointed: some of my favorite passages were omitted. I will never buy an abridged book again.
Read full review

- Catherine

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-06-2009
  • Publisher: Naxos Audiobooks