Coming Home for Christmas

  • by Jenny Hale
  • Narrated by Teri Schnaubelt
  • 8 hrs and 37 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Coming Home for Christmas is a beautifully observed story about the importance of family, the magic of Christmas, and falling in love one snowflake at a time.
Fans of Trisha Ashley, Susan Wiggs, Carole Matthews and Susan Mallery - and anyone who loves the sound of carols and the twinkling of lights on the Christmas tree - will adore Jenny Hale's feel-good debut.
Christmas is a time for family... isn't it?
Allie Richfield loves Christmas, so when she lands a job as House Manager for the amazing Ashford Estate - which includes organizing the Marley family festivities - she is in her element. With a budget bigger than her life savings and a team of staff, how hard can it be?
As one-by-one she meets the Marleys, she’s about to find out...
Allie’s new boss, Robert, might be gorgeous, but he’s also colder than the snow outside and refuses to come home for Christmas. Robert’s playboy brother, Kip, flirts with her relentlessly; and his sister, Sloane, arrives home with baggage - both the divorce-kind and the Louis Vuitton kind. Their ninety-two year old grandmother, Pippa, spends her day grumbling at them all from her mobility scooter.
With Robert intending to sell Ashford, it’s the Marley’s last chance to create some happy memories in their family home - and Allie is determined to make it happen... even if it takes a little Christmas magic! With the festive spirit in full swing, she might even discover a little happiness of her own...


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A christmas story

Any additional comments?

It is a perfect story for anyone looking to read a heartwarming story of love and the holidays. As you listen through this love story you will be swept away with Ms. Hale's captivating words. You find yourself questioning which leading man will win Allie's heart. A true Christmas story.

Read full review

- med c

Not a romance for me

ZZZZZZ...oh hey thanks for waking me up for the review. This book could have been so interesting, but it gets lost in the drawn out story and confusing romance.

Here is why I say the romance is confusing. You have no idea which brother to route for. Allie starts off crushing on Robert, then later meets Kip, has a flirtation with hims and kind of dating , definitely kissing, the whole time thinking about Robert. This kind of thing does not fly for me in romances. I like one clear couple, no kissy-face of thinking about somebody else. It just smacks of cheating to me.

This would have been better as a simple fiction about the family and the internal struggle about selling the house. There were too many plot points to pick-up and it was very slow going.

I listened to the audiobook narrated by Teri Schnaubelt, who to her credit kept me listening long after I was bored with the story. She has a terrific pace, she picks up the speed of the story as best she can. It was because of her I kept listening, even though I no longer cared what happened with these people. He voices were distinct and consistent throughout.

If you are looking for a holiday romance, this isn't it, but it might fit the bill as a fiction.

Disclosure - I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts, opinions and ratings are my own.
Read full review

- K. April Holgate

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-16-2014
  • Publisher: Bookouture