Regular price: $31.50

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $31.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Kate Morton and Sarah Waters, here's a magnetic debut novel of wrenching family secrets, forbidden love, and heartbreaking loss housed within the grand gothic manor of Black Rabbit Hall.
Ghosts are everywhere - not just the ghost of Momma in the woods but ghosts of us, too, what we used to be like in those long summers....
Amber Alton knows that the hours pass differently at Black Rabbit Hall, her London family's country estate, where no two clocks read the same. Summers there are perfect, timeless. Not much ever happens. Until, of course, it does.
More than three decades later, Lorna is determined to be married within the grand, ivy-covered walls of Pencraw Hall, known as Black Rabbit Hall among the locals. But as she's drawn deeper into the overgrown grounds, half-buried memories of her mother begin to surface, and Lorna soon finds herself ensnared within the manor's labyrinthine history, overcome with an insatiable need for answers about her own past and that of the once-happy family whose memory still haunts the estate.
Stunning and atmospheric, this debut novel is a thrilling spiral into the hearts of two women separated by decades but inescapably linked by the dark and tangled secrets of Black Rabbit Hall.
©2016 Eve Chase (P)2016 Penguin Audio
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"The ominous tone of this audiobook draws in the curious listener from the first scene. Three narrators collaborate, stitching together the lives of the characters in a seamless listening experience.... Buscombe, Scarfe, and Campbell create artistic portraits of each character, including the gruff masculine ones." (AudioFile)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Laura on 02-11-16

If you love Kate Morton

If you love Kate Morton, Black Rabbit Hall is a must read. Like Morton, Eve Chase weaves together rich characters with scenery so breathtaking, it almost becomes a character itself. The storyline made me never want to pause. I loved this book and look forward to more books by this author.

Read More Hide me

6 of 6 people found this review helpful


By S.Edwards on 02-29-16

A good story in the Kate Morton school of writing.

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

I'm not sure I would as I really found one of the narrators very hard to listen to.In fact, she starts the story and I nearly gave up with the whole thing because of her. She has a terribly grating tone and their is something innately annoying about her. She manages to make Lorna and John terribly annoying too. I couldn't like Lorna because of the whiney voice the narrator gives her which makes her seem very weak. John is made overbearing and patronizing by what I think is overacting on the part of the reader. I have a feeling I would have enjoyed this story far more if I had read it myself. I would be likely to recommend the book, but not the audio.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Lucian because he was brave and honorable and kind.

Would you listen to another book narrated by the narrators?

No.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

All the losses were very moving and unsettling. I hated what happened to poor, Old Harry.

Any additional comments?

This is a good story which is most certainly in the school of Kate Morton. I wish the main character of Lorna had been portrayed as stronger and more positive, but I think a lot of my dislike of this character must stem from the narrator. I think I will avoid audiobooks that involve Nathalie Buscombe.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2017 Audible, Inc