Beyond the Night : The Heroes of New Vegas

  • by Colleen Gleason
  • Narrated by Sebastian Fields
  • Series: The Heroes of New Vegas
  • 10 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Colleen Gleason, writing as Joss Ware, comes the award-winning paranormal romance series set in a devastated world.
Everything they knew is gone...
From the remnants of devastation, five men emerge with extraordinary new powers. They are humankind's last hope, but they cannot survive this devastated world alone.
When Dr. Elliott Drake emerges from a cave after traveling fifty years through time, the world as he knew it is gone. Cities are overgrown jungles, and what's left of civilization has been repressed by crystal-wearing immortal beings. But even more unsettling: Elliott has acquired an extraordinary ability--the power to heal.
But even that gift, in a world that lacks the technology and infrastructure of his past, is a two-edged sword for Elliott.
Jade Kapiza, who'd been imprisoned by the immortal beings, has been in hiding for years. But now she's determined to help the human race fight back against the control of her captors. She can trust no one...but when Elliott comes into her life, he pushes at her defenses and begins to tear down the walls she's built so carefully.
Yet the mysterious doctor seems to have secrets of his own. Can Jade trust Elliott with her heart, even as they risk their lives to save a band of innocents?
And can Elliott find a new place for himself--a home--in this new, ravaged world?


What the Critics Say

"Joss Ware's vision of the future is dark, complex, and sharply original." (Nalini Singh)
"Brilliantly conceived and executed." (Library Journal)
"Joss Ware makes even the end of the world sexy!" (Kathryn Smith, USA Today bestselling author)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Way beyond My Expectation

I really enjoyed this book way more than I was expecting. I like romance, dystopian YA, zombies and sci-fi but something about the description just didn’t appeal to me. After reading some of the reviews I decided to give it a try and I am so glad I did. The author did a good job of finding the right balance between world building and actually telling a story. Sometimes writers get caught up in the build-up and a plot becomes boring or stale. She blended the right amount of action, romance and back story. She also threw in enough mystery to make me want to go back for more (there are at least 4 books on Audible). I liked the narrator as well but it took a while to get accustomed to his style of delivery. Overall I really enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone who likes a mix of sci-fi and romance.
Read full review

- Katheryne

A Chilling Story

When five men emerge from a cave, they find that the world, as they knew it, is gone. Fifty years has passed, but they have not changed. As they journey to seek other survivors, they learn that each of them possess an extraordinary power. They are driven to see what is left and seek safety from the zombie like creatures who hunt them. Then they meet Jade, a runner, who is trying to save her friends and her world from the evil that caused this devastation. Will they survive? Joss Ware/Colleen Gleason has written a story that gave me chills. What if our life was destroyed in a heartbeat? The story is so incredible and the danger so exciting. I was hooked. The characters are well written and the setting so powerful. I was especially drawn to Jade and Dr. Elliott Drake. They are a intriguing couple. They fight the attraction they feel, but finally realize that we need someone to love and to love us. This is a suspenseful story that is filled with unexpected twists. Beyond the Night is the first book in the Envy Chronicles. I can't wait to start reading the next one. I want to know more about Envy Nevada and her people and about the Immortals and their plans.

I enjoyed the narration by Sebastian Fields. He was perfect.
Read full review

- Rosemary

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-09-2013
  • Publisher: Avid Press Audio