Arranged

  • by Catherine McKenzie
  • Narrated by Rachel Dulude
  • 8 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Anne Blythe has a great life: a good job, good friends, and a potential book deal for her first novel. When it comes to finding someone to share it with, however, she just can't seem to get it right. After yet another relationship ends, Anne comes across a business card for what she thinks is a dating service, and she pockets it just in case. When her best friend, Sarah, announces she's engaged, Anne can't help feeling envious. On an impulse, she decides to give the service a try because maybe she could use a little assistance in finding the right man. But Anne soon discovers the company isn't a dating service; it's an exclusive, and pricey, arranged marriage service. A few months later, Anne is traveling to a Mexican resort, where in one short weekend she will meet and marry Jack. And against all odds, it seems to be working out - until Anne learns that Jack, and the company that arranged their marriage, are not what they seem at all.

More

What the Critics Say

"Fans of Jennifer Weiner and Jennifer Crusie have found a new author to watch." (Booklist Starred Review)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Solid listen with relatable characters

Any additional comments?

Anne Blythe has just gotten out of another relationship when she finds a card on the street with her last name on it. Is it fate? She doesn't know, but she keeps it. A little while later her best friend gets engaged, feeling down she decides to call the number on the card. The card is for what she thinks is a dating service but later finds out it is for Blythe and Co. - who arrange marriages. Is this for her? Is she willing to pay a lot of money and put her faith in a practice that seems so outdated? And how will everyone in her life react when she tells them that she got married 'on a whim while on vacation'?

Anne is ready to share her life with someone. She is ready to be married and start a family, so she decides she is going to go through with an arranged marriage. We see her journey through this process and when she finally meets Jack he's different than than her norm. But different is good. And they have chemistry. There's a conflict at the end that is very plausible and works really well within the story.

The narration is great, Rachel Dulude does a great job bringing this story and the characters in it to life. It was the first book I listened to her narrate, and I would gladly listen to her again!

This was an even keel listen for me. It was very pleasant and kept me entertained. I really enjoyed it. I listened to it while I was at work, so I was able to get through it all in one sitting... it made for a very nice day.

Read full review

- Ashley D "I love reading! You can find me at home at night with my face in a book or listening to books during the day while I deliver mail."

very nice

This is the second book I've read by Catherine McKenzie, the first was SMOKE which I enjoyed. She is so pleasant to listen to listen to, this is easy reading but so far I've enjoyed and been surprised by her plot twists!!! Yes and the narrator was very easy on the ears!!! I will be reading her again for sure!
Read full review

- Beverly Low "HI!!!!!! I love to read!!!"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-22-2014
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio